Home Cricket News SAvIND: Virat Kohli leads India”s fightback on day 2 as South Africa...

SAvIND: Virat Kohli leads India”s fightback on day 2 as South Africa strike at regular intervals

The second day of the 2nd test match between India and South Africa played at SuperSports, Park Centurion saw the exciting day of cricket. South Africa started the day on 269 for 6, captain du Plessis played a good knock off 63 and were bowled out for 335. In reply, India lost 2 early wickets of KL Rahul and Pujara. Kohli remained firm as 3 wickets fell in the final session.

Starting on the overnight score of 269 for 6, Mohammad Shami took the wicket of Keshav Maharaj. Captain Faf du Plessis and Kagiso Rabada added 42 runs for an 8th wicket. South African captain du Plessis reached his half-century off 127 balls. Ishant Sharma dismissed captain Faf for 63. South Africa was bowled out for 335. India played only 1 over before the lunch break with 4 runs on board.

After the lunch break, KL Rahul and Murali Vijay played with positive intent adding 28 runs for the first wicket. India lost 2 quick wickets of KL Rahul, Pujara. Captain Virat Kohli was good with his hitting and made batting look easy. Murali Vijay also was leaving the balls and hitting bad balls away for boundaries. India went into the tea break at 80 for 2.

In the third session, Kohli and Vijay continued to play the South African bowlers with ease. Captain reached his half-century off 68 balls. Maharaj ended a dangerous 3rd wicket partnership of 79 runs by dismissing Murali Vijay for 46. Soon after, Rohit Sharma was dismissed by Kagiso Rabada for 10. Parthiv Patel and Kohli added 32 runs for the 5th wicket. Ngidi got his maiden test wicket as he dismissed Parthiv Patel. India ended day 2 on 183 for 5 with Kohli not out on 85.

Rabada, Ngidi, Morne Morkel and Keshav Maharaj picked 1 wicket each.

South Africa 335 in 113. 5 overs ( Markram 92, Hashim Amla 82, Faf du Plessis 63, Ravichandran Ashwin 4/113, Ishant Sharma 3/46)

India 183 for 5 in 61 overs ( Virat Kohli 85*, Murali Vijay 46, Rabada 1/33) trail by 152 runs.