Home Cricket News Schedule for India’s home series against New Zealand announced

Schedule for India’s home series against New Zealand announced


Schedule for India’s home series against New Zealand announced: New Zealand will be the first team to tour India in their long home season, the Board of Control for Cricket in India announced. The season will begin on September 22 in Kanpur with the 1st Test against New Zealand. The Kiwis are scheduled to play 3 Tests and 5 One Day Internationals in the 38-day tour.

The schedule of the New Zealand tour of India 2016 has been announced and it will start with the Test matches with the Green Park hosting the opener. Test cricket will return to the iconic venue, Green Park after seven years. The ODI Series will start from 8 October 2016.

After the first Test at Kanpur from 22nd – 26th September, Eden Gardens will host the 2nd Test match from Sep 30 to Oct 4. The 3rd and final Test will be played at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore from 8th to 12th October.

After a break of 3 days, the 5-match ODI encounter commences in Dharamsala on October 16. The 2nd, 3rd and 4th ODI will be played at Delhi, Mohali and Ranchi on October 19th, 23rd and 26th respectively. Visakhapatnam will host the 5th and final ODI on October 29.

Earlier the BCCI president, Anurag Thakur had announced that the board was keen on hosting a Test played with the pink ball under lights against New Zealand. However, the much anticipated Day-Night Test hasn”t found a mention in it. The board has realized it does not have sufficient time to organize a Test match under lights with the pink-ball because of its exclusive demands. The BCCI said they would wait for the players” feedback from Duleep Trophy that will be held in September in which pink balls would be used in the games between 4 teams.

After New Zealand series, England will tour India for a long tour in Nov 2016-Jan 2017 and then Aussies arrive for 4 Tests in Feb 2017.


Latest Posts