Adelaide Oval witnessed a controversial LBW dismissal of Shakib Al Hasan during the Super 12 game between Pakistan and Bangladesh on Sunday, November 6. It seemed that the Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan edged the ball on the replay, but the third umpire didn’t overturn the on-field umpire’s call. He was unhappy with this decision and was seen arguing with the umpire but ultimately had to go back to the dugout.
After the innings completion, Shadab Khan, who dismissed the Bangladeshi skipper, was asked about the dismissal. His response was blunt and suggested that since the umpire gave it out, it was out.
“Umpires gave it out, so it’s out (Shakib decision),” Shadab said in a chat with Isha Guha, the broadcaster, after completing Bangladesh’s innings.
It is true after Shakib Al Hasan’s dismissal, the momentum shifted back to Pakistan, and Bangladesh lost wickets in a short matter of time and ended up with a below-par score of 127-8. Shaheen Shah Afridi picked up four wickets today and registered his best T20I bowling figures.
Apart from Najmul Hussain Shanto, who scored a half-century, none of the other batters stood up to the occasion. Pakistan has begun pursuing this target and lost both their openers. However, contributions from the middle order saw the Men in Green chase down the target convincingly and book a semi-final berth.
“It has a bearing on the dugout” – Ravi Shastri on Shakib Al Hasan’s controversial dismissal
Former Indian head coach Ravi Shastri has shared his opinion on this controversial dismissal of Shakib Al Hasan, saying that the ball has to hit the bat. He said:
“Which (the shadow) suggests the bat was in the air and there is a spike, so that ball has to hit the bat and nothing else. But I think he will be a little disappointed that it really turned the entire momentum of the game. Big player, big wicket, knockout game and when your captain is dismissed in that fashion, it has a bearing on the dugout.”