Home Cricket News SLvIND : BCCI announces squad for ODI series & Only T20I

SLvIND : BCCI announces squad for ODI series & Only T20I

BCCI has announced the 15 man squad for the five match ODI and one T20 match series against Sri Lanka starting from 20th August. Yuvraj Singh has been dropped from the ODI squad due to poor performances in the ODI series against West Indies.

KL Rahul makes a comeback into the ODI squad. His last ODI was against England in January 2017 and missed the Champions Trophy due to an injury. Manish Pandey also makes a comeback into the squad after missing few series due to injury. Manish Pandey performed brilliantly in the recently concluded tri-series scoring 307 runs in 5 matches.

Suresh Raina has not been included in the team while the spin twins of Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin will not play a part in ODI team as they have been rested. Dinesh Karthik and Pant are the other players to miss out for the series. India is currently playing the 3rd test match at Kandy. Among the new faces, Shardul Thakur and Yuzvendra Chahal have been included as they performed well in the recently concluded tri-series. Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav to have been rested.

The team will be captained by Virat Kohli and vice captained by Rohit Sharma. Rahane and KL Rahul are the other openers in the team. Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Axar Patel will be the spinning options for team India.

The Pacers include Jasprit Bumrah who was rested for the ODI Series against West Indies. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has not played a game in the ongoing test series against Sri Lanka. The inexperienced S Thakur will be the third pacer. It is a great mix of youth and experience. With top quality batsmen in the team, the Indian team would like to continue their brilliant form in the ODI series against Sri Lanka.

The first ODI match starts from 20th August and ends the tour with a lone T20 on 6th Sept.

SQUAD: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.