Home Cricket News SLvIND : Upul Tharanga to lead Sri Lanka in ODI’s against India

SLvIND : Upul Tharanga to lead Sri Lanka in ODI’s against India

After suffering a whitewash in the test series the host will be keen to turn things in their favor in fifty over format of the game when they take on India starting on Sunday in Dambulla. Sri Lanka will play a five match ODI series followed by a T-20.

Sri Lanka announced their 15 man squad for the ODI series to be led by the senior batsman Upul Tharanga after Angelo Mathews resigned from captaincy post their 2-3 loss against Zimbabwe in July. However, veteran pacer Lasith Malinga makes a comeback to the squad after missing out the test series.

Asela Gunaratne and Nuwan Pradeep who suffered injuries during the test series also misses out from the squad and they were replaced by young fast bowler Lahiru Kumara and left-arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara. They both featured in the test series against India with Pushpakumara making his debut at the age of the 30 taking 563 wickets in 101 first-class matches. He was overshadowed by the extremely talented Rangana Herath who has served Sri Lankan cricket since a long time.

Sri Lanka’s newly appointed captain Tharanga in an interview said, “Every team goes through a rough patch, this is something that happens in cycles to every team and every nation no matter how great a cricketing nation they are. The support of our fans plays a big role in lifting the morale of the team. We play for our country and our goal is to bring pride to our family of 20 million in this nation – so your support is something that matters greatly to us,”

India had a thumping 5-0 series win when they last faced Sri Lanka in India in November 2014-15, however, they defeated India in a group match in the recently concluded Champions Trophy.

Sri Lanka ODI Squad

Upul Tharanga (Captain), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera, Milinda Siriwardana, Malinda Pushpakumara, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Thisara Perera, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lasith Malinga, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando.