Home Cricket News Sourav Ganguly To Continue As BCCI President ? SC To Declare Result On April 15

Sourav Ganguly To Continue As BCCI President ? SC To Declare Result On April 15

Sourav Ganguly To Continue As BCCI President ? SC To Declare Result On April 15

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly‘s continuation to his post is all set to be decided by the Supreme Court of India. They will come out with a decision on April 15.  Ganguly along with Jay Shah and Jayesh George will know on Thursday if they can continue as BCCI office-bearers. This matter has been pending for months before the Supreme Court. Going by the guidelines of the BCCI, the trio should be in their cooling period at the moment with their terms for their respective positions having ended midway last year.

Sourav Ganguly’s case has been pending in the Supreme Court for some time now. According to the BCCI constitution that was passed by the Supreme Court in August 2018, the three officials should have been in their cooling off period for three years spending six years as cricket administrators in a state association or BCCI.

Sourav Ganguly’s Fate As BCCI President Rests On SC’s Decision

A two-judge bench, headed by Justice L. Nageswara Rao, will hear the BCCI matter on Thursday morning (April 15). It has been listed as the first case of the day and despite COVID restrictions, it is learnt that Justice Rao and Justice Vineet Saran have given the case “high importance.”

Also Read: Will IPL 2021 Go As Per Schedule Amid COVID-19 Rise? Sourav Ganguly Answers

Justice Rao had said: “We can’t keep adjourning like this. We had adjourned six times. Don’t adjourn … we will not adjourn it… list on March 23.”

Justice Rao’s bench will hear at least 14 petitions, most of them praying for a rollback of the Supreme Court’s directions based on the reforms suggested by the former Chief Justice of India, RM Lodha.

The BCCI itself is asking for six amendments in the constitution that was approved by a former CJI, Justice Dipak Misra. Among many things, BCCI wants Ganguly, Shah and George to continue and no ‘cooling off’ should be applied.

Sourav Ganguly was formally elected as the 39th BCCI President on October 23, 2019. Along with Ganguly, Jay Shah (Secretary), Arun Dhumal (Treasurer), Mahim Verma (Vice-President) and Jayesh George (Joint Secretary) were appointed for their respective positions as well.

Also Read: BCCI President Sourav Ganguly Confirms ICC World Test Championship Final Venue


Latest Posts