South Africa Announce Squad For The Upcoming Limited-Over Series Against England

South Africa Cricket Team (Credit: Twitter)

South Africa have named 28-year-old uncapped bowler Glenton Stuurman in the 24-man squad for the upcoming limited-overs series against England at home. Meanwhile, the series will also see the return of pace spearhead Kagiso Rabada, who missed the last series for the Proteas.

This will be a massive series for South Africa in terms of what has transpired in Cricket South Africa in recent times. At one point, it looked like the International Cricket Council will ban them from taking part in international cricket. However, they have come past it and will hope to put their best foot forward against the current ODI World Champions.

South Africa announce squad for Australia series

The six-match series will be the first international cricket played in South Africa in almost eight months since the home summer concluded with white-ball cricket against Australia. All the players who were involved in limited-overs matches against Australia at home and those who were part of the squad that went to India have been picked in this squad except for Dale Steyn.

The 37-year-old Steyn, who is currently playing in IPL, was un unavailable for selection and considering that he was not awarded a central contract earlier this year; his international career is almost over. That tournament was postponed by a year, and South Africa’s planning for the 2021 tournament in India is set to begin now.

“This is an important season for the team, with an ICC T20 World Cup coming up late next year in India,” Graeme Smith, director of cricket, said.” I’m sure that the T20 series, in particular, is going to boast some explosive performances for cricket fans to enjoy at home,” he added. 

Also Read: Delhi Capitals Troll Themselves Using a Donald Trump Tweet Qualifier 1 Loss vs MI

South Africa Squad squad for limited-overs series against England:

Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Faf du Plessis, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Janneman Malan, David Miller , Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla , Jon-Jon Smuts, Glenton Stuurman, Pite van Biljon, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne