Home Cricket News South Africa Becomes 8th Team To Qualify For the 2023 World Cup Directly

South Africa Becomes 8th Team To Qualify For the 2023 World Cup Directly

South Africa Becomes 8th Team To Qualify For the 2023 World Cup Directly
South Africa qualify directly for WC 2023

South Africa became the 8th and final team to qualify for 2023 50 Over World Cup directly to be played in India later this year.

The first ODI between Ireland and Bangladesh at Chelmsford on 9 May 2023 was abandoned due to rain. Ireland needed 3-0 to qualify directly for the prestigious tournament. With this washed-out match, South Africa eventually made it without playing qualifying rounds.

Ireland captain Andrew Balbirnie won the toss and decided to field first. The pitch had something for the seam bowlers. Thanks to Mushfiqur Rahim 61, Shanto 44, contributions from Shakib, Hridoy and others helped Bangladesh post 246 for 9 in 50 overs. For Ireland, Joshua Little grabbed 3 for 61, Mark Adair, and G Hume grabbed 2 wickets each while Curtis Campher and Geroge Dockrell took 1 wicket each.

In reply to 247 runs, Ireland lost 3 big wickets of Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie and S Doheny. With the scoreboard reading 65 for 3, rain arrived, and the match was called off due to heavy rains. After this washout, Ireland got 5 points.

With this washout, South Africa occupied the final spot for World Cup 2023 directly to be played in India later this year.

South Africa’s journey in ICC ODI Super League

South Africa finished as the 8th team in ICC ODI Super League for direct qualification for WC 2023. Proteas played a total of 22 matches during the 2020-2023 period winning 9 matches while losing 10 lost and 2 ended in no result. They were deducted 2 points due to slow overrate.

South Africa lost the home series to Pakistan 1-2 and also deducted 1 point due to a slow over-rate. Proteas then drew 2 match ODI series against Ireland 1-1 on 13 and 16 July.

South Africa lost to Sri Lanka away from home with a 1-2 gap. This series was played between the 2nd and 7th of September 2021. The first match between SA and Netherlands did not happen due to rain before the ODI series was cancelled due to COVID.

South Africa were outclassed by Bangladesh at home between 18 and 23 March 2022. They then lost to India away in India by 1-2 after winning the first match. South Africa registered a big win over defending Champion England by 2-1 to stay alive in the hunt for direct qualification.

SA skipped the 3-match series against Australia in Australia. They registered 2 big wins over the Netherlands and ended the ODI Super League with 98 points.

These 8 teams include India, England, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and South Africa.

ICC ODI qualifying round

A total of 10 teams will take part in the ICC ODI qualifying round to take place between 18 June and 9 July in Zimbabwe.

Ireland, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Netherlands and Zimbabwe finished in the bottom five of the ICC ODI Super League tournament. Nepal, Oman and Scotland ended in the top 3 spots during League 2 tournament played between 14 August 2019 to 16 March 2023.

Namibia and the United States of America finished in the top 2 of the qualifier playoff tournament in Namibia between March 26 to 5 April 2023.

The top two teams will complete the 10-team tournament of World Cup 2023 to be played in India.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts