Home Cricket News Sri Lanka announce World T20 Squad; Mathews, Malinga returns

Sri Lanka announce World T20 Squad; Mathews, Malinga returns


Sri Lanka announce World T20 Squad; Mathews, Malinga returns: The selectors on Thursday have announced a 15-member Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming Asia Cup this month and the World T20 next month in India. The Asia Cup, which will be in Twenty20 format this time is to start from February 24, with 5 teams locking horns for the cup. The main event of the ICC World T20 2016 in India will kick-off from March 15.

Lasith Malinga’s return to the side after suffering from injuries will be a big boost for the Lankans. He will also lead the side in both the tournaments. Star spin bowler Rangana Herath also returns to the shortest format of cricket after two years. He last played a T20I in the final of the last World T20 in Bangladesh, which saw Sri Lanka lifting the trophy under Malinga’s leadership. Sri Lanka have gone with quite a few experience mix as they also roped in Nuwan Kulasekara in the squad.

Angelo Mathews, who has also recovered from injuries have been included in the squad and he will play a major part with his all-round cricket as well as vice-captaincy duties. Dilhara Fernando have missed the cut after he got only a single chance against India in the recent T20I series in a span of four years.

Sri Lanka Squad: Lasith Malinga (captain), Angelo Mathews (vice-captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardana, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Jeffrey Vandersay

Latest Posts