After postponing the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 in Australia, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said India will host the 2021 version while Australia will have the right to host next year. A couple of days later, ICC has zeroed Sri Lanka and UAE as India’s back-up venue for T20 World Cup event.

Owing to the rise of COVID-19 pandemic, the global body had to defer the T20 World Cup in Australia. Although the decision received backlash from certain sectors, ICC believed it is in the best interest of everyone.

UAE, Sri Lanka back-up venues for T20 World Cup

As a result, ICC has fixed Sri Lanka and UAE as the back-up venues if India fails to host the T20 World Cup. This move comes as a precautionary measure after failing to host the event this year.

According to a report in ESPN Cricinfo, “Sri Lanka and the UAE are among the back-up venues for the 2021 men’s T20 World Cup, should the COVID-19 pandemic make India an untenable host.”

ICC T20 World Cup postponed 2020

Sri Lanka, UAE back-up venues for India for 2021 ICC T20 World Cup

Meanwhile, it is a regular protocol to have back-up venues for global events. However, it is of greater significance considering the current pandemic. India is among the worst-hit countries with over 20 million cases. The rise in spike has been growing consistently as the entire world still awaits for the vaccine to come out.

“Identifying potential back-up venues is standard practice for every ICC event, but it takes on extra significance in this time because of the nature of the pandemic.”

“India is currently the third-worst-hit country in the world in terms of cases, according to most data studies, with over 2 million cases so far and over 45,000 deaths,” the report added.

Meanwhile, BCCI had to shift IPL 2020 out of India owing to the present situation. This is the second time when an entire IPL will take place outside the country after 2009. The franchises will leave for the UAE after August 20.

The cash-rich league will start from September 19 and will run until November 10. Mumbai Indians will defend the title in the UAE.