Home Cricket News Sunil Joshi And Harvinder Singh Frontrunners To Replace MSK Prasad And Gagan Khoda As National Selectors

Sunil Joshi And Harvinder Singh Frontrunners To Replace MSK Prasad And Gagan Khoda As National Selectors


Former India cricketers Sunil Joshi and Harvinder Singh are the frontrunners to replace chairman of selectors MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda in the senior selection committee panel of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The decision on the new selectional panel is likely to take place later today (March 4). 

It is likely that the new selection panel will pick the squad for the three-match ODI series against South Africa. The shortlisted candidates for the selector's role will appear before the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) for interviews in Mumbai today. The three member-CAC, headed by former Indian all-rounder Madan Lal had a meeting on Tuesday with the BCCI president, Sourav Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah. 

MSK Prasad's tenure has come to an end

The other candidates, who have been shortlisted and will appear for interviews before the CAC are Venkatesh Prasad, Rajesh Chauhan, and Laxman Sivaramakrishnan. Meanwhile, as per reports earlier that Sivaramakrishnan was out of the race. 

Read More: Sandeep Patil slams team management for playing with Wriddhiman Saha's career

Meanwhile, Sunil Joshi continues to remain the frontrunner to replace MSK Prasad. The incumbent selector has been under the scanner several times for his controversial decision including the ICC World Cup 2019 saga over Ambati Rayudu. Joshi, who has featured for India in 15 Tests, also served as the spin bowling consultant of Bangladesh Cricket Team. 

While the durations for both MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda are already done, there exist few months Jatin Paranjape, Sarandeep Singh, and Devang Gandhi in the committee. BCCI may also continue with its policy of appointing one selector from each zone as Sarandeep Singh, Devang Gandhi, and Jatin Paranjape from north, west, and east zones respectively and are still on the job while Prasad and Khoda, who belong to South and Central Zone respectively, have come to a close.

Read More: South Africa's ODI squad for the three-match series against India

Latest Posts