Home Cricket News Sunil Narine Needs 18 Runs To Achieve A Huge Feat In IPL

Sunil Narine Needs 18 Runs To Achieve A Huge Feat In IPL

Sunil Narine Needs 18 Runs To Achieve A Huge Feat In IPL
Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine, an all-rounder for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), is on the verge of making history in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He needs just 18 more runs to become the first player in IPL history to score over 500 runs and take at least 15 wickets in a single season. So far, in the 2024 IPL season, Narine has played 13 matches, scoring 482 runs with a high strike rate of 179.85.

This season, which is the 17th edition of the IPL, has seen Narine excel, particularly as an opening batsman. At 35 years old, he is close to surpassing the 500-run milestone. If he achieves this, he will join the ranks of KKR players like Robin Uthappa, Andre Russell, and Gautam Gambhir, who have also scored 500 runs in a season.

In addition to his batting prowess, Narine has taken 16 wickets this season, maintaining an impressive economy rate of 6.90. His performance has been a significant factor in KKR’s success. The team topped the league stage with nine wins, three losses, and two matches with no result, ending up with 20 points.

Sunil Narine has been in sublime form in the IPL 2024

Sunil Narine
Sunil Narine

This performance secured KKR a direct spot in the final after defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the first qualifier. SRH had another chance to reach the final and capitalized on it by defeating Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 36 runs in the second qualifier.

Sunil Narine’s all-round performance is noteworthy and has been pivotal in KKR’s journey this season. His ability to contribute significantly with both bat and ball highlights his versatility and value to the team. If he reaches the 500-run mark, it will be a landmark achievement, underscoring his exceptional talent and consistency in the IPL.

KKR Squad:

Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy, Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, Srikar Bharat, Sherfane Rutherford, Dushmantha Chameera, Chetan Sakariya, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Sakib Hussain, Suyash Sharma, and Allah Ghazanfar.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts