Home Cricket News Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2023-24: Sanju Samson Appointed As The Captain Of Kerala

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2023-24: Sanju Samson Appointed As The Captain Of Kerala

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2023-24: Sanju Samson Appointed As The Captain Of Kerala
Sanju Samson. Photo: Getty Images

The new domestic season will begin as dashing wicketkeeper batter Sanju Samson has been appointed as the captain of the Kerala side for the upcoming season. Samson will look to create an impact with his bat and ensure that he gets selected for the Indian national team ahead of upcoming tournaments after the World Cup 2023.

The premier T20 domestic league tournament will begin on 16th October and the finals will be held on 6th November 2023. It will be played across 6 venues in India. Kerala has been clubbed with Himachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Assam, Bihar, Chandigarh, Odisha, and Services.

After being snubbed from the Asia Cup squad and Asian Games squad, Sanju Samson would look to prove his worth with some brilliant knocks staking a claim in the Indian national squad. Samson scored 160 runs from 6 matches (6 innings) in the 2022/23 Syed Mushtaq season with only 2 half-centuries to his name including the best score of 61. He would look to showcase his abilities for Kerala and hope to lead them well.

Kerala lost to Saurashtra in the Premlinary quarterfinals during the 2022/23 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. This season, Kerala has been bolstered by Shreyas Gopal who has left Karanakta and will join the Kerala side.

Sanju Samson
Kerala-born Sanju Samson has been in superb form. (Photo: Twitter)

Sanju Samson must score big runs and make sure that Kerala can lead to the title. The batting unit looks strong as the likes of Rohan Kunnumal, Sachin Baby, Mohammed Azharudden, Vishnu Vinod, and other explosive batters can make use of the batting conditions in India.

Kerala would be looking to top the Group and qualify directly for the quarterfinals. If Sanju Samson can provide some brilliant knocks, then Kerala can do the job. Kerala has been doing well in domestic seasons for quite some. They need Sanju Samson and others to fire if Kerala needs to qualify.

Kerala Squad for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2023-24:

Sanju Samson (captain, wk), Rohan Kunnummal (vice-captain), Shreyas Gopal, Jalaj Saxena, Sachin Baby, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Vishnu Vinod, Abdul Basit, Sijomon Joseph, Vysakh Chandran, Basil Thampi, KM Asif, Vinod Kumar, Manu Krishnan, Varun Nayanar, M. Ajnas, P.K. Mithun, Salman Nissar

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts