Home Cricket News T20 World Cup 2022: ICC Confirms Venues For The Next Global T20...

T20 World Cup 2022: ICC Confirms Venues For The Next Global T20 Event In Australia

Australia T20 World Cup 2022
(Credit: Getty Images)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed the seven host cities for the next edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia now that the final line-up for the event has been confirmed.

T20 World Cup 2022 will feature a total of 45 games in less than a month to be played at Adelaide Oval, the Gabba, Kardinia Park in Geelong, Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Perth Stadium, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, and the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The semi-finals will be played on November 9 and 10 at the SCG and Adelaide Oval before the final at the MCG on November 13 (Sunday). The tournament, which was originally to be staged in Australia in 2020 but was postponed due to the pandemic, will start on October 16 next year.

“With the unprecedented disruptions over the past two years, bringing the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to Australia for the first time offers a perfect opportunity for fans across the whole country to experience the joy of a live global sporting event again,” said Michelle Enright, the tournament’s CEO.

“The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 produced some incredible moments and created memories that will live with Australian cricket fans forever. Now it’s time for the men’s event to take centre stage and claim its own place in history,” he added. 

Current champions Australia have already qualified for the T20 World Cup 2022 along with runners-up New Zealand. The next six highest-ranked teams in the world – England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Afghanistan and Bangladesh – have also earned a free pass into the second round of the 2022 tournament.

Sri Lanka, West Indies, Scotland, and Namibia will have to play Round 1 along with the other four teams that will come up from the Qualifiers.

The full fixture for the tournament will be announced in January.

T20 World Cup 2022

Dates: October 16 to November 13

Host cities: Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney

Automatically qualified for Super 12s: Australia, New Zealand, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Afghanistan, Bangladesh

Automatically qualified for Round 1: Sri Lanka, West Indies, Scotland, Namibia, TBC, TBC, TBC, TBC

Get the latest update on T20 World Cup and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.