Home Cricket News Team List Revealed For The Bushfire Cricket Bash

Team List Revealed For The Bushfire Cricket Bash


The final playing XIs have been announced for Sunday's rescheduled charity game at Junction Oval, which will raise funds for communities affected by Australia's recent bushfire disaster. West Indies legend Brian Lara will join the likes of Ricky Ponting, Justin Langer, and Matthew Hayden in the best top-order the world cricket has seen. 

The forecast of record-breaking rainfall in Sydney this weekend has seen the match rescheduled from Saturday afternoon at the SCG to Sunday at Junction Oval as part of a double-header with the CommBank women's T20 tri-series match between Australia and England.

Read More: Jofra Archer ruled out of IPL 2020

The change in schedule meant Shane Warne, who was due to lead one of the sides, will not be able to participate. Former Australia players Steve Waugh, Michael Clarke and Mike Hussey, women's players Holly Ferling and Grace Harris and rugby league great Brad Fittler are also now unavailable due to the change of date.

Ponting XI will also see Australian women's player Elyse Villani and teenage sensation from West Indies, Phoebe Litchfield, who rose to prominence in this season's Rebel WBBL. Pakistan great Wasim Akram, Brett Lee, and Dan Christian will complete the squad coached by Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar. 

Gilchrist XI will also witness some of the greats of the game like Yuvraj Singh, Courtney Walsh, Shane Watson, and Andrew Symonds ply their trade for bushfire victims. The team coached by Australia's Test skipper Tim Paine also boasts Brad Hodge, Peter Siddle, and Fawad Ahmed.

The charity match will now take place on February 9 at the Junction Oval in Melbourne. 

Ponting XI: 

Matthew Hayden, Justin Langer, Ricky Ponting (c), Elyse Villani, Brian Lara, Phoebe Litchfield, Brad Haddin (wk), Brett Lee, Wasim Akram, Dan Christian, Luke Hodge. Coach: Sachin Tendulkar

Gilchrist XI: 

Adam Gilchrist (c & wk), Shane Watson, Brad Hodge, Yuvraj Singh, Alex Blackwell, Andrew Symonds, Courtney Walsh, Nick Riewoldt, Peter Siddle, Fawad Ahmed (one more to be announced). Coach: Tim Paine

Latest Posts