Home Cricket News These Two legends are all set to take part in the first...

These Two legends are all set to take part in the first ever T-10 League

Former cricketing legends Shahid Afridi, Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara and England’s Eoin Morgan are all set to take part in a newly formed T-10 League in the United Arab Emirates later this year in December.

The 10 over per-side match will spread over a span of 90 minutes with each side will have 45 minutes to complete their quota of 10 overs. The president of the aforesaid league, Salman Iqbal is very hopeful about the success of this form of cricket featuring the retired cricketers.

“Everyone has played T-10 cricket on the streets and this will give more fire to cricket and will be a big step forward and people will definitely enjoy it,” Iqbal was heard saying.

Kumar Sangakkara, Shahid Afridi, and Virender Sehwag unveiled as Brand Ambassadors of T10 Cricket League

The tournament will take place from December 21 to 24 in Sharjah as confirmed by the president of the league. Former captain of Pakistan cricket team, Misbah-ul-Haq has also confirmed his participation along with Bangladesh’s all-rounder Shakib Al-Hasan.

“When I was told of the idea I was thrilled and requested that I want to play,” a delighted Afridi said who can’t wait for the league to take off.

Inzamam-ul-Haq is Brand Mentor of T10 Cricket League © TCL

England skipper Eoin Morgan was also very optimistic about the success of this tournament. “The whole concept is exciting. We all remember when the first time Twenty20 cricket was played and since then it (twenty20) has impacted the other formats. “If this new idea takes off then I am sure it will also impact the other forms of the game,” said Morgan.

“It’s an exciting idea and a good thing for players like me this year. It will need just ten overs of batting and then fielding and at this age, I can afford that,” Misbah concluded pointing out the importance of short duration for players like him.