CPLCricket News

TKR Owner Shah Rukh Khan Congratulates Team After Fourth Title; Says You Make Us Proud

The owner of the Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) seemed extremely elated on Thursday as his team created history in the Caribbean Premier League (IPL). An undisputed team led by Kieron Pollard went home with the trophy with 12 straight wins.

Meanwhile, TKR chased down 154 needed for victory on the back of a century stand by the Lendl Simmons (84*) and Darren Bravo (58*). The duo added an unbeaten 138 run stand. Simmons also ended up as the highest scorer of the season with 356 runs at an average of nearly 40 and a strike rate of 122.34.

The Windies opener also pipped ‘Universe Boss’ Chris Gayle to become the highest run-scorer. in the history of the league. He now has 2436 runs from 82 matches. Gayle has scored 2354 runs from 76 matches.

TKR owner Shah Rukh Khan Congratulates team after CPL win

Earlier, the St Lucia Zouks were bowled out for 154 in the 19th over in what was an ordinary batting display by Darren Sammy’s men. They had an upper hand in the first 10 overs with the side placed at 79 for 2. They lost 8 wickets for 75 runs in the back 10 with TKR skipper Kieron Pollard taking 4 for 30 from his allocated four overs.

Shah Rukh Khan, the owner of the Trinbago Knight Riders, congratulated his side for winning their fourth CPL title. In a series of tweets, King Khan showed his moments of joy for his side. His happiness knew no boundaries as soon as Darren Bravo hit the winning runs.

“Ami TKR we rule. Awesome display boys…u make us proud, happy and make our party even without a crowd. Love u team. @TKRiders @54simmo and my fav @DMBravo46 well done @KieronPollard55 & my man @DJBravo47 love you how many now4!!! @Bazmccullum come to IPL lov u,” SRK’s tweet read.

In a few other tweets, SRK posted pictures of him clicking a selfie with the team who were celebrating back in Trinidad.

Also Read: Trinbago Knight Riders Create History With Fourth CPL Title

Shahrukh’s Kolkata Knight Riders will play their first game against defending champions Mumbai Indians in Abu Dhabi on September 23. King Khan would hope that his IPL franchise replicates the feat of his CPL franchise. Interestingly, KKR won their second IPL title, the last time IPL was held in the UAE in back in 2014.


Anshuman Roy

A cricket and sports enthusiast having previously worked with Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint and now with Cricfit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker