The Lanka Premier League is all set to take place from November 21 to December 13, 2020, as soon as the Indian Premier League comes to an end. As a result, the preparations for the league have already begun in Sri Lanka as the draft for players selection recently took place online.

Capital city franchise Colombo Kings picked Andre Russell, Faf du Plessis and Angelo Mathews wherein Mathews was picked as the icon player whereas Du Plessis and Russell were the overseas picks in the side. Other distinguished signatures picked by the Colombo Kings are Indian players Manvinder Singh Bisla and Manpreet Gony.

The Capital city franchise has also named Dav Whatmore as their coach who has wealth of experience coaching international sides in the past. Under the guidance of Dav Whatmore, Sri Lanka had won their one and only World Cup title in 1996. After his Sri Lanka coaching stint, Whatmore further went to coach the national sides of Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Zimbabwe.

Two Indian players in Lanka Premier League draft

Talking about other sides, Dambulla Hawks plucked Dashun Shanaka, David Miller and Carlos Brathwaite in the draft wherein Shanaka is picked as the icon player whereas Miller and Braithwaite are the overseas players of the side. Kandy Tuskers picked their icon player in the form of Kusal Perera whereas they picked Chris Gayle and Liam Plunkett as their foreign players.

On the other hand, Galle Gladiators picked Sri Lanka’s legendary bowler Lasith Malinga as their icon player whereas they went ahead with Shahid Afridi and Colin Ingram as their foreign players. Shahid Afridi will act as the player cum brand ambassador of the Galle Gladiators side.

In the end, Jaffna Stallions picked Thisara Perera as the local icon player whereas they ahead with Englishman Dawid Malan as their overseas signing.

The Lanka Premier League is to be played at two venues -Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.