Home Cricket News New Zealand Cricketers Face Travel Restrictions In IPL 2021

New Zealand Cricketers Face Travel Restrictions In IPL 2021

New Zealand Cricketers Face Travel Restrictions In IPL 2021
(Photo Credit: (ICC)

New Zealand cricketers are up for some early problems in IPL 2021. As many as 10 Kiwi cricketers including the likes of Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Kylie Jamieson amongst other are playing for different franchises in the IPL. The players will not be able to travel as part of travel restrictions. New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern on Thursday announced an April 11 to 28 ban on arrivals from India in the wake of rising COVID-19 cases in the country.

Also Read: Watch – Kyle Jamieson Breaks Krunal Pandya’s Bat With A Deadly Yorker

New Zealand Cricketers Face Travel Restrictions In IPL

“We’re monitoring the situation and are in contact with the IPL franchises to keep the lines of communication open, because the tournament’s due to go for some time,” Richard Boock, NZC’s public affairs manager was quoted as saying by ‘New Zealand Herald’.

“We’re prepared to discuss all contingencies, if the situation warrants. For argument’s sake, if it occurred with one of the test players, it might make more sense for them to continue on to England (for the test tour and world championship final),” Boock added.

New Zealand cricketers play two Tests in England between May 25 to June 14, followed by the WTC final against India from June 18. India has been recording more than one lakh cases for the past few days.

“Ultimately these decisions around travel into high-risk countries generally will come down to individuals, but also if it’s a workforce, their employers. So those are judgements they need to make,” Ardern said.

New Zealand reached the finals of the World Test Championship after Australia postponed their trip to South Africa over COVID concerns. India then beat Australia and England in back to back Test series to cement the second spot inn the finals. The final will be played at Southampton on June 18-22 after ICC decided to shift Lord’s which was the initial venue for the final.

Also Read: Dinesh Karthik Excited To See This Punjab Kings Youngster In IPL 2021

Latest Posts