Home Cricket News Tri-nation Series: Sikandar Raza & Tendai Chatara seal thriller against Sri Lanka

Tri-nation Series: Sikandar Raza & Tendai Chatara seal thriller against Sri Lanka

Raza, Chatara thump Srilanka

All is not well for Srilanka at the moment as they lose their first match in 2018 against Zimbabwe by 12 runs at Dhaka.

Zimbabwe win thriller

Sikandar Raza and Chatara”s contribution played a vital role in sealing a win against Srilanka after their dismal performance against Bangladesh.

Winning the toss, SL opted to bowl and never looked threatening in their attack.  Runs flowed through the bats of Mazakadza and Mire. Brendan Taylor scored valuable 38 before which Sikandar Raza scored towards every nook and corner of the ground ending up with 81 off 67 deliveries and posting a total of 290/6.Asela Gunaratne ended the innings with the figures of 3/37.

Inconsistent SL batting line-up

Kusal Janith Perera played brilliant innings (80 off 83)but that wasn”t enough to make his team taste victory.  Tharanga and Kusal Mendis failed yet again with the bat putting the pressure on the middle order. Chandimal making his return into the limited overs format after a long time couldn”t make an impact as he was dismissed after run a ball 34.

Thisara Perera”s blistering 64 of 37 balls came too late as SL faced an embarrassing defeat.

Tendai Chatara was the star performer with the ball for Zimbabwe ending up with figures of 4/33. Cremer and Kyle Jarvis took 2 wickets each.

SL captaincy- A musical chair

Angelo Mathews who quit his captaincy after the humiliating series loss against Zimbabwe at home in 2017 was re-appointed as the limited overs captain earlier this month.

It may be noted that Srilanka has made upto 6 changes from 2017 but couldn”t turn their fortunes.

This defeat also makes Bangladesh the only Asian team to start 2018 with a victory.  Srilanka will face Bangladesh in the third match of the tri-series on Friday at the same venue.

Match summary

ZIM 290/6 (50) Raza 81*, Masakadza 73 ; Gunaratne 3/37

SL 278 (48.1) Kusal Perera 80,Thisara Perera 64; Chatara 4/33