Home Twitter Reactions Twitter Reaction: Royal Challengers Bangalore Register First Win Of The Tournament

Twitter Reaction: Royal Challengers Bangalore Register First Win Of The Tournament

Twitter Reaction: Royal Challengers Bangalore Register First Win Of The Tournament
Photo: WPL

Royal Challengers Bangalore beat UP Warriorz comfortably to register the first win of WPL played at DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai on 15 March 2023.

Chasing down 136 runs to win, Sophie Devine began the innings with 14 runs before being caught at the boundary. Smriti Mandhana’s struggle continued with not opening her account. Ellyse Perry and Heather Knight showed intent putting pressure on the Warriorz bowlers. At the end of the first six overs, RCB scored 43 for 2.

Devika Vaidya struck to dismiss Perry with a simple catch to Ecclestone at mid-on. Kanika Ahuja looked in fine touch putting the bad deliveries away for boundaries. Heather Knight looked before providing a simple catch to Navagire leaving RCB in trouble. Kanika Ahuja showed her intent against the UP Warriorz by coming down the track and hitting some lovely strokes. Richa Ghosh also looked impressive giving the strike to Ahuja.

Ahuja and Richa Ghosh kept the scoreboard with boundaries at regular intervals. Ahuja did not feature in RCB’s last match and made batting look easy. Ahuja’s brilliance came to an end bowled by Ecclestone. Ahuja and Ghosh added 60 runs for the 5th wicket. Shryeanka Patil was given a chance to hit the winning runs as RCB won the match by 5 wickets with 12 balls to spare. For her 46 off 30 deliveries and 2 catches, Kanika Ahuja was named player of the match.

RCB bowlers did the damage

Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Smriti Mandhana won the toss and decided to field first. It was an ideal start for RCB as Sophie Devine got rid of Devika Vaidya and Alyssa Healy in the opening.

Megan Schutt made a perfect start for RCB getting rid of Tahila McGrath leaving UP Warriorz in massive trouble at 5 for 3. Kiran Navagire looked impressive before Asha dismissed Kiran and Simran Sheikh in the same over leaving UP Warriorz in deep trouble at 31 for 5.

Deepti Sharma was given a reprieve as Heather Knight dropped a sitter. Richa Ghosh missed a stumping chance to get rid of Harris. Harris and Deepti Sharma kept the momentum going for the UP Warriorz side keeping the momentum going. Ellyse Perry got wickets of well-set Deepti Sharma and Grace Harris in the same over to bring back RCB in control.

It was superb bowling as they bowled out UP Warriorz for just 135. Ellyse Perry was the pick of bowlers with 3 for 16, 2 each by Asha, and Sophie Devine, and 1 each for Schutt and Shryeanka Patil.

Here is how Twitterati reacted to the win:

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts