The ongoing 2nd Test between India and England witnessed drama on Day 1 when 3rd umpire Anil Chaudhary ruled Ajinkya Rahane not out on England’s referral despite having a clear spike on ultra-edge. Now today, the on-field umpire made a horrendous call which eventually helped Rohit Sharma survive the DRS call.
It happened during the 13th over into India’s second innings when Rohit Sharma was struck on the pads while offering no shot on Moeen Ali’s delivery, the entire England Team went up in an animated appeal only to be ruled not out by the on-field umpire Virender Sharma who is standing in his very first Test match.
‘That is no shot offered’ Sunil Gavaskar On Rohit Sharma’s LBW Call
After the England team went up for the review, the on-field umpire communicated to the 3rd Umpire that a shot was offered even though it was clearly evident that Rohit Sharma had the bat nicely hid behind the pad with no real intention of playing a shot. According to MCC – Laws of cricket, batsmen could be given out if the ball hit the pad outside off stump but was going on to hit the stumps, provided the batsman was not offering a shot.
In this case, Rohit Sharma clearly didn’t offer a shot but with the on-field umpire ruling it as ‘shot offered’, it ended up influencing the DRS decision since the impact was outside the 3rd umpire didn’t need to look any further ruling Rohit Sharma not out but if the onfield umpire had ruled it as ‘No shot offered’ then the impact wouldn’t have mattered, which would’ve resulted in the end of Rohit Sharma since ball tracking suggested, it would’ve crashed onto middle stump.
Sunil Gavaskar who was on English commentary at that point of time was shocked to see Virender Sharma ruling it as ‘Shot offered’,
“That is no shot offered, from what little I know of batting.” said Sunil Gavaskar on English Commentary
Let’s a look at the Twitter Reactions:
Bad one from Umpire Virender Sharma. No way in the world Rohit is offering a shot. 2 things: 1)Conversation between umps has to be fluid. TV ump should be able to overrule that call with clear evidence. 2)Alternately, captain needs to know the on-field umps call before reviewing
— Raunak Kapoor (@RaunakRK) February 14, 2021
— Brad Hogg (@Brad_Hogg) February 14, 2021
— Edges & Sledges Cricket Podcast (@1tip1hand) February 14, 2021
Shot was clearly not offered there…
Another Umpiring Blunder in the 2nd Test.
3rd Umpire should have the autonomy to decide if shot was offered or not. #INDvENG
— Amey Pethkar ???????????????? (@ameyp9) February 14, 2021
What kind of shot did Rohit offer there? #INDvEND
— Gautam Bhimani (@gbhimani) February 14, 2021
Flashback to Pujara being judged to have not offered a shot during the Aus series. #INDvENG
— Melinda Farrell (@melindafarrell) February 14, 2021
There was no shot played there. Rohit survives. The umpiring needs to get better.
— Nikhil ???? (@CricCrazyNIKS) February 14, 2021
Shocking every cricketer in the world knows he didn’t play a shot!! Terrible umpiring #sharma
— Nick Compton (@thecompdog) February 14, 2021
That’s not playing a shot.#INDvsENG
— Mpumelelo Mbangwa (@mmbangwa) February 14, 2021