Home Twitter Reactions Twitterati React As India Thrash Sri Lanka In Deciding T20I Match And Seal The Series

Twitterati React As India Thrash Sri Lanka In Deciding T20I Match And Seal The Series

Twitterati React As India Thrash Sri Lanka In Deciding T20I Match And Seal The Series
India thrash Sri Lanka by 91 runs in the 3rd T20I. (Image: Twitter/BCCI)

Team India registered an emphatic 91 runs win in the 3rd and deciding T20I match against Sri Lanka played at SCA Stadium, Rajkot on 7 January 2023. It was a dominating performance by Men in Blue right from the word go.

Indian captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and decided to bat first. It was not an ideal start for Team India as they lost an early wicket of Ishan Kishan providing a simple catch to Dhanajaya de Silva at first slips.

Rahul Tripathi put pressure on Lankan bowlers keeping the pressure on Lankan bowlers. After a cautious start, Shubman Gill attacked. Tripathi fell caught by Madhushanka at short third man. Tripathi and Shubman Gill added 49 runs for the 2nd wicket.

Suryakumar Yadav came to the crease and put enough pressure on Lankan bowlers with his innovative strokes. Yadav reached fifty off 26 balls keeping the momentum going along Shubman Gill. Surya and Shubman Gill added 111 runs for the 3rd wicket. Despite Hardik Pandya and Deepak Hooda falling cheaply, Surya Kumar continued his innovative batting reaching his 3rd T20I century off 45 balls.

Axar Patel also provided the impetus with a quickfire 21 off 9 balls to help India post 228 for 5. Axar and Surya added unbeaten 39 runs for the 6th wicket. Kusal Mendis looked in sublime touch right from word go. Axar Patel provided the breakthrough dismissing Mendis as Umran Malik took a simple catch. The Indian bowlers kept picking wickets at regular intervals and made life tough for Lankan batters.

It was one-way traffic as India bowled out Sri Lanka for 137 in 16.4 overs. Arshdeep Singh was the pick of bowlers with 3 for 20, Umran Malik, Chahal, and Hardik Pandya took 2 wickets each while Axar Patel grabbed 1 wicket. For his 112 off 51 balls, Surya Kumar Yadav was named the player of the match while Axar Patel was awarded the player of the series award for his all-around performance.

Records made and broken during the 3rd T20I match

  1. Surya Kumar Yadav became the 2nd Indian after Rohit Sharma hit 3 centuries in the T20I format.
  2. He recorded the 2nd fastest century by an Indian in the shortest format of cricket. Surya reached his century off 45 balls. Rohit Sharma holds the record for the fastest century in the T20I format of 35 balls.
  3. Surya became the fourth batter in the T20I format to hit 3 centuries. Rohit Sharma has 4, and Colin Munro and Glenn Maxwell has 3 centuries.
  4. India’s 91 runs win is the fourth-highest victory margin against any opponent
  5. Surya registered his 2nd best T20I score after an unbeaten 111 against New Zealand on 20th November 2022.
  6.  Yuzvendra Chahal became the joint leading wicket-taker in the T20I format for Team India. After today’s 2 wickets, the leg spinner has now 90 scalps during 74 matches.

Here is how Twitterati reacted to the win of Team India:

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts