Home Cricket News Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Premlinary Quarterfinals: Karnataka, UP, J&K Progress Into Quarterfinals

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Premlinary Quarterfinals: Karnataka, UP, J&K Progress Into Quarterfinals

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Premlinary Quarterfinals: Karnataka, UP, J&K Progress Into Quarterfinals
Vijay Hazare Trophy. (Image: Twitter)

The 3 preliminary quarterfinals took place in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Premlinary Quarterfinals with Uttar Pradesh taking on Mumbai, Karnataka facing Jharkhand and Jammu and Kashmir taking on Kerala side.

1st Premlinary quarterfinals

Karnataka versus Jharkhand

Karnataka defeated Jharkhand comprehensively in the first preliminary quarterfinals played at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on 26 November 2022. Karnataka captain Mayank Agarwal won the toss and decided to field first.

It was an ideal start as Kaverrappa got rid of debutant Arnav Sinha with beauty. Ronit More produced another stunning delivery to dismiss Utarkash Singh leaving Jharkhand in big trouble. Shahbaz Nadeem was promoted to number 3. Virat Singh and Nadeem steadied the ship for Jharkhand before More struck to dismiss Virat caught by Venetaksh at mid-on. At the end of the first 10 overs, Jharkhand ended at 29 for 3.

Venkatesh struck twice in the same over to dismiss Saurabh Tiwary and Nadeem to leave Jharkhand in tatters at 40 for 5. Kushgara and Anukul Roy slowly steadied the ship keeping the momentum going. Venetaksh made an important breakthrough by dismissing Kushgara for a well-made 74. Kushgara and Anukul Roy added 115 runs for the 6th wicket. Karnataka bowlers kept picking wickets at regular intervals as Jharkhand could only score 187 in 47.1 overs.

Chasing 188 runs to win, Karnataka lost an early wicket to the captain Mayank Agarwal taking an inside edge onto the stumps. Ravi Kumar Samarth and Nikin Jose looked in complete control keeping the scoreboard ticking. Rahul Shukla dismissed Ravi Kumar Samarth caught by Sinha. Samarth and Jose added 64 runs for 2nd wicket. Despite Karanakta losing wickets, Jose remained unbeaten along with Bhandage. Karnataka won the match by 5 wickets with 55 balls to spare.

Karnataka 188 for 5 in 40.5 overs ( Nikin Jose 63*, Ravi Kumar Samarth 53, Rahul Shukla 2/44) beat Jharkhand 187 in 47.1 overs ( Kushgara 74, Anukul Roy 57, Kaverrappa 3/20, Ronit More 3/31) by 5 wickets.

2nd Premlinary quarterfinals

Mumbai versus Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh shocked Mumbai with a comprehensive 8-wicket win in the 2nd preliminary quarterfinals played at Sardar Vallabhai Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad. UP captain Karan Sharma won the toss and decided to field first.

It was an ideal start for UP as Shivam Mavi and Ankit Rajpoot dismissed Mumbai openers Divyyansh Saxena and explosive Prithvi Shaw. Arman Jaffer and captain Rahane steadied the ship before Karthik Tyagi grabbed the wicket of Rahane. Rahane and Jaffer added 52 runs for 3rd wicket. Hardik Tamore and Shams Mulani rescued Mumbai’s innings before Shiva Singh grabbed an important breakthrough dismissing Tamore. Tamore and Mulani added 103 runs for the 6th wicket.UP bowlers kept taking wickets at regular intervals to bowl out Mumbai for 220 in 48.3 overs.

Chasing 221 runs to win, Madhav Kaushik and Aryan Juyal showed their domination putting on 119 runs for the opening wicket. Aryan and Priyam Garg added 39 runs for the 2nd wicket to help UP for a comfortable win. Garg and Karan Sharma did the job as they added unbeaten 63 runs for the 3rd wicket. UP won the match by 8 wickets with 26 balls to spare.

UP 221 for 2 in 45.4 overs (Aryan Juyal 82, Madhav Kaushik 46, Mohit Avashti 1/31) beat Mumbai 220 in 48.3. overs (Hardik Tamore 53, Mulani 51, Shivam Mavi 4/41) by 8 wickets.

3rd Premlinary quarterfinals

Jammu and Kashmir stunned Kerala in the 3rd preliminary quarterfinals played at Gujarat College Ground, Ahmedabad. J and K captain Shubam Pandir won the toss and decided to field first.

Poonam Rahul and Manoharan began the innings on a positive note before Auqib Navi provided the breakthrough. Rahul struggled scoring 8 off 36 balls. J and K bowlers rattled the Kerala middle order to bowl out Kerala for 174 in 47.4 overs.

Chasing 175 runs to win, Shubham Khujaria and Qumran Iqbal put on 113 runs for the opening wicket laying a strong foundation. J and K won the match easily by 7 wickets with 73 balls to spare.

J and K 175 for 3 in 37.5 overs ( Khujaria 76, Qamran Iqbal 51 retired hurt) beat Kerala 174 in 47.4 overs ( Vinoop Manoharan 62, Aquib Navi 4/39) by 7 wickets.

Quarterfinals line up for VHT 2022

  1. Punjab versus Karanakta (Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad)- 28th November
  2. Maharashtra versus Uttar Pradesh (Narendra Modi Stadium Ground B, Ahmedabad )- 28th November
  3.  Assam versus Jammu and Kashmir ( Gujarat College Ground, Ahmedabad)- 28th November
  4. Tamil Nadu versus Saurashtra ( GS Patel Stadium, Nadiad)- 28th November.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts