Home Cricket News Virat Kohli Equals Kane Williamson’s Record With Unbeaten 77 in 3rd T20I...

Virat Kohli Equals Kane Williamson’s Record With Unbeaten 77 in 3rd T20I vs England

captains T20 most runs India's Predicted XI For 1st ODI vs England
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Virat Kohli scored an unbeaten 77 in the third T20I against England at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Tuesday. It was his second fifty-plus score on the trot after a duck in the first T20I. However, his knock was not enough to take India home as England chased down the target in a canter courtesy Jos Buttler’s brilliance. The visitors now lead the series 2-1 with two more games to go.

However, Jos Buttler’s unbeaten 83 overpowered Kohli’s brilliance as England won the game with eight wickets to spare. The England wicketkeeper-batsman hit five fours and four sixes. He was ably supported by Jonny Bairstow (40*) added an unbeaten 77-run stand as the duo decimated the Indian bowling attack.

Also Read: KL Rahul Creates Unwanted Record After Scoring Duck In 3rd T20I Against England

Virat Kohli Equals Kane Williamson

Meanwhile, Indian skipper Virat Kohli has equalled Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson with his second fifty-plus score on the trot. Both Kohli and Willaimson have now hit eleven fifties each in the shortest format. Kohli’s unbeaten 77 took India to 156/6. He came out to bat at no.4 with India reeling at 20/2 after losing both openers KL Rahul (0) and Rohit Sharma (15) cheaply. The skipper took control of India’s innings and notched up his 27th half-century in T20Is.

Kohli notched up two consecutive fifties after scoring a duck in the first game. Despite Kohli’s brilliance with the bat, India’s problem at the top-order and the middle-order remains. KL Rahul’s back to back failures and Rohit Sharma’s low score in the third T20I has increased India’s problems.

India has a problem of plenty when it comes to choosing a proper XI. The BCCI announced a big squad for the T20I and ODI series keeping in mind their preparations for the World T20 later this year.

It was KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan opening in the first game, followed by KL Rahl and Ishan Kishan in the second. Rohit Sharma returned to the side in the third game and he opened alongside Rahul in the game. Rohit in the post-match press conference spoke about Rahul-Rohit being their primary choice for the opener’s slot in T20Is.

Also Read: Twitter Erupts After Virat Kohli Masterclass With The Bat In The 3rd T20I