Home Cricket News Virat Kohli Scales Rare Feat After India’s Series Win Against New Zealand

Virat Kohli Scales Rare Feat After India’s Series Win Against New Zealand


Team India scripted a whitewash over New Zealand beating the host by seven runs to end the series 5-0 at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui. India skipper Virat Kohli achieved a rare milestone as India registered another Twenty20 International series win. 

Meanwhile, the Kiwis will be really disappointed with their performance in the series. They were in line to win the last three matches but choked in the fag end of every match to lose the series. They were at 116 for three in 12.3 overs at one stage in pursuit of 164 runs with Tim Seifert and Ross Taylor but once the wicket-keeper batsman departed, the middle-order crumbled. Navdeep Saini and Jasprit Bumrah were brilliant with the ball to snatch the win from the jaws of defeat. 

Team India with the trophy. Credit: Twitter

Read More: Jasprit Bumrah pleased with his performance in the T20I series

Previously, KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma starred with the bat scoring the bulk of runs to set up the tone for India with the bat. Rahul missed a fine century while Rohit knocked 60 runs off 41 balls before Shreyas Iyer helped India post a challenging total of 163 runs at the end of 20 overs. While many at the halfway stage thought that New Zealand would chase down the target, Bumrah ensured India register their third clean sweep in a three-plus match series.

In addition, skipper Virat Kohli also achieved a special record with India's series win. With the 10th bilateral series win as captain, Virat Kohli has now surpassed Faf du Plessis who has 9 series wins to his name in first 15 T20I series as captain.

Most bilateral series wins as captain (after 15 T20I series)

10 – Virat Kohli
9 – Faf du Plessis
7 – Eoin Morgan
6 – Darren Sammy
5 – MS Dhoni

Latest Posts