Home Videos - Players Receive A Warm Welcome On The Field During The Practice...

[Watch]- Players Receive A Warm Welcome On The Field During The Practice Game Between India And Leicestershire

The Indian men’s cricket team is in England, for a multi-format series, including an only Test (the fifth rescheduled Test from last year’s outing), three T20 Internationals, and three One Day Internationals.

Before ‘the Ultimate Test,’ India is preparing for the epic battle, as the Rohit Sharma-led side is playing a warm-up game against Leicestershire, at Grace Road, Leicester.

The Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat first. Even though it is a warm-up game, the Indian supporters have rolled up in Leicester, to see the Indian stars in action.  As the game started off, the players received a warm welcome while taking on the field. As soon as the umpires and players from both teams crossed the ropes, a group of musicians and dancers welcomed them in the Indian way.

A Bhangra tune was played and the dancers didn’t fail to impress the spectators with their astonishing dance moves. The Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has shared a video of the reception, via its official social media handle. While posting the video, they wrote: “That is some welcome for a practice game. Leicester is buzzing.”

Watch the video:


Besides, the Indian team is currently leading the Test series by 2-1, although the winner of the Pataudi Trophy is yet to be concluded as India had to leave the tour due to the COVID-19 outbreak in the camp.

Pant, Bumrah, Pujara, and Krishna play for Leicestershire

Here is the playing XI of both teams. The game is live on the Leicestershire official YouTube channel.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Virat Kohli, Hanuma Vihari, Srikar Bharat(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav

Leicestershire (Batting 11, Fielding 11): Samuel Evans(c), Louis Kimber, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Rehan Ahmed, Samuel Bates(w), Roman Walker, Jasprit Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, Will Davis, Nathan Bowley, Abidine Sakande, Joey Evison

Written By Prachi Pisal

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.