Home Cricket News West Indies axe Darren Sammy & name Carlos Brathwaite new T20 captain

West Indies axe Darren Sammy & name Carlos Brathwaite new T20 captain


West Indies axe Darren Sammy & name Carlos Brathwaite new T20 captain: The WICB on tuesday (9th August) appointed allrounder Carlos braithwaite as their new T20 captain for the two matches against India which will be held later this month in Florida. Braithwaite has only played in eight T20Is till date.

Darren Sammy, who led them to two World T20 titles had recently posted a video on his Facebook page saying the chairman of selectors had called him about his exclusion from the squad.

A WICB release said: “With regards to Sammy”s omission from the squad, the Chairman of selectors Courtney Browne made sure that the announced-squad was selected purely on players” performances.”

Sammy had led WI to their second World T20 title earlier this year but apart from his captaincy he hardly impressed the board of selectors and ended up facing only 13 balls in his three innings, scoring eight runs, and bowled three overs, taking one wicket.

“Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players,” Browne said.

Sulieman Benn, Denesh Ramdin, Ashley Nurse and Jerome Taylor have also been dropped from the squad. However, Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard return back to the squad after pulling out of the world T20 for different reasons.

As a whole, it will be interesting to see how West-Indies perform in the upcoming series against India under the captaincy of Braithwaite.

West-Indies T20 Squad :

Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite (Capt), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine

In: Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard

Out: Darren Sammy, Sulieman Benn, Ashley Nurse, Denesh Ramdin, Jerome Taylor

Latest Posts