After intense competitions for almost two years, the first edition of the ICC World Test Championship final will come a full circle when India will lock horns with New Zealand in the pinnacle clash. Southampton’s Rose Bowl Stadium will host the much-anticipated encounter starting from June 18. The tie was shifted from Lord’s to Southampton considering the safety of the cricketer amid the coronavirus pandemic.
Both India and New Zealand have been dominant forces in the tournament and have reached the final solely based on their performances. While the Kiwis have won six out of their last six games, Virat Kohli & Co lost a game against England to script four wins from five outings. The Black Caps have had an upper hand in head-to-head tie having whitewashed India when they last met in 2020.
What will happen if ICC World Test Championship final ends in a draw?
An electrifying clash awaits in five weeks’ time with two of the best Test sides of modern-day cricket go up against each other. However, one question still remains unclear that what will happen if the ICC World Test Championship final ends in a draw?
ICC has reserved a day – June 23 for any casualties during the final Test. This is the first Test where an extra day has been added as it will be used to culminate the game provided there has been a substantial loss in the net playing time or a considerable loss of overs in the initial five days.
However, if a match ends in a draw, then the reserved day won’t be used to declare a clear winner. Instead, the trophy will be shared by both teams. They will be adjudged the champions irrespective of their position on the ICC Test Rankings. It will be interesting to see if we find a clear-cut winner or if Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson will share the illustrious trophy.