Home Cricket News WI vs SA: West Indies Name Squad For T20 Series Against South Africa, Brandon King Appointed As Captain

WI vs SA: West Indies Name Squad For T20 Series Against South Africa, Brandon King Appointed As Captain

WI vs SA: West Indies Name Squad For T20 Series Against South Africa, Brandon King Appointed As Captain

The West Indies Cricket Board named 15 member squad for the 3-match T20I series against South Africa. Considering T20 World Cup 2024, these three matches would be an ideal preparation for both teams.

Brandon King has been appointed as the captain for the three-match T20I series. Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, and Shimron Hetymer are currently in India to take part in the knockout stage of IPL 2024. Nicolas Pooran has been rested for this series keeping in mind of T20 World Cup 2024.

The T20I squad for the series against South Africa also are a part of the World Cup 2024 includes Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Jason Holder, Akeal Hossein, Shamar Jospeh, Gudakesh Motie, and Romario Shepherd.

The batting unit looks strong with the likes of Kyle Mayers, Brandon King, and Johnson Charles who can destroy any bowling lineup. Andre Flecther and Alick Athanaze are other quality batters that could create doubts about the South African bowling lineup.

The pace bowling options include Jason Holder, Romario Shepherd, Obed McCoy, Shamar Jospeh, and Matthew Forde. Hayden Walsh Junior, Gudakesh Motie, and Fabien Allen would be three spin bowling options.

“We have not played together as a team since the Australia series, but we just completed a very high-intensity training camp in Antigua. Now we have the chance to integrate some of our players returning from the IPL and build some momentum as a group going into the World Cup.”

West Indies
West Indies beat England in the 3rd ODI to win their first-ever series win in 16 years

West Indies’ Schedule For T20 World Cup 2024

West Indies has been in sensational form of late winning the T20I series against India and England at home. They produced a spirited performance against the Australian side losing the T20I series by 1-2.

The two-time World Champions West Indies have been clubbed with Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, and debutant Uganda. They would look to play positive cricket and qualify for the Super 8 stage.

West Indies could not qualify for the Super 12 stage as they failed to qualify from Round 2 of the 2022 T20 World Cup played in Australia.

The three-match T20I series will be at Sabina Park, Jamaica on 24th, 26th, and 27th May 2024. South Africa would be missing key players including David Miller, Kagiso Rabada, and Tristan Stubbs. Klassen, Markram, Keshav Maharaj, and Marco Jansen will take part in the playoffs of IPL 2024 but have not been included.

West Indies T20I squad:

Brandon King (C), Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Alick Athanaze, Andre Flecther, Fabien Allen, Matthew Forde, Jason Holder, Akeal Hossein, Shamar Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Junior.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts