Home Asia Cup 2022 Women’s Asia Cup 2022: Indian Women’s Team Reach 8th finals

Women’s Asia Cup 2022: Indian Women’s Team Reach 8th finals


The Indian women’s team defeated Thailand by a big margin in the first semi-finals of the 2022 Women’s Asia Cup played at Sylhet International Cricket Ground, Sylhet on 13th October.

Thailand captain Chaiwai won the toss and decided to field first. Shafali Verma survived two chances with a stump miss and a catch dropped. Verma put enough pressure on the Thailand bowling line. On the other hand, Smriti Mandhana also showed intent before providing a simple catch to Kamchomphu with full-toss delivery. Mandhana and Verma added 38 runs for the opening wicket laying a strong foundation for a decent total. At the end of the first six overs, Indian women made 47 for 1.

Tippoch was bought into the attack and grabbed the wicket of Shafali Verma with a decent catch by captain Chaiwai. Rodrigues and Harmanpreet Kaur showed intent with lovely shots putting the inexperienced Thailand team under pressure. Putthawong struck for Thailand dismissing Rodrigues with a simple catch to Kanoh at long-on. Kaur and Rodrigues added 42 runs for the 3rd wicket. The Thailand bowlers kept a tight leash on Indian batters before Pooja Vastrakar added vital runs to help the Indian team post 148 for 6 in 20 overs.

Thailand batters struggled with the top-quality bowling of the Indian team. Deepti Sharma was the pick of bowlers with 3 wickets for just 7 including the big wicket of Chantam. After that, the Indian team never allowed the Thai batters to score runs easily and restricted them to just 74 for 9. As a result, the Indian team won the match by 74 runs qualifying for the 8th finals in Women’s Asia Cup history.

50 Over format

The first Women’s Asia Cup was held in Sri Lanka in April 2004. Only India and Sri Lanka took part in that tournament playing the five-match ODI series. Indian team won all five matches winning Asia Cup.

The second Women’s Asia Cup was held in December 2005 and January 2006 in Karachi. This time, Pakistan took part as the Indian team won the tournament defeating Sri Lanka by 97 runs.

Only three teams took part in the 3rd edition of the Women’s Asia Cup in December 2006. Indian team won the tournament beating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in Jaipur.

Indian team won the tournament again defeating Sri Lanka by 177 runs. The tournament was played in Sri Lanka in 2008.

20 over format

From the 2012 edition onwards, the tournament was played in the T20I format. A total of 8 teams took part divided into two groups.

Pakistan, India, Thailand, and Hong Kong were involved in Group A. Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, and hosts China were clubbed in Group B. The tournament was held between 24th October till 31st October 2012 in Guangzhou, China.

The Indian team finished the league stage with 3 out of 3 wins. They qualified for the finals as the first semi-finals between India and Sri Lanka were abandoned due to rain. It was an impressive performance by Women in Blue as they defeated arch-rivals Pakistan by 18 runs. After being bowled out for 81 runs, Indian bowlers skittled Pakistan for 63 runs.

The Indian team became Champions for the sixth successive time as they defeated arch-rivals Pakistan by 17 runs played in Thailand from 27th November to 4th December 2016.

A total of 6 teams including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Thailand, and Nepal took part in it. Indian team won all their league matches before defeating Pakistan in a closely fought encounter.

The 2018 edition saw the Indian team reaching the Asia Cup finals for the 7th time. The tournament was played between the 3rd and 10th of June in Malaysia. A total of 6 teams took part in it including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Malaysia, and Thailand.

The Indian team finished top of the league standings with 8 points winning 4 matches and losing just 1 thus qualifying for finals. It was a disappointing batting performance by Women in Blue posting 112 for 9 with a brilliant 56 off 42 balls by Harmanpreet Kaur.

Despite a valiant effort by Indian bowlers, Bangladesh won their maiden Asia Cup title on the last ball winning by 3 wickets.

The 2022 edition saw the Indian team dominating the tournament. Despite a stunning loss to Pakistan in the group stage. India won against Sri Lanka, UAE, Malaysia, Bangladesh, and Thailand with ease. Due to an inferior run rate, the Indian team finished top of the points table with 5 wins.

Harmanpreet Kaur and Co would be looking to continue their impressive performance in the finals against the spirited Sri Lanka side to be played on 15th October.

IND Women beat Thai Women IND Women won by 74 runs - IND Women vs Thai Women, Women's Asia Cup, 1st Semi-Final Match Summary, Report | ESPNcricinfo.com



Latest Posts