Cricket News

World T20 2016: England announce 15-member squad, KP left out

World T20 2016: England announce 15-member squad, KP left out: ECB have announced their 15-man squad for the 2016 World T20 to be held in India from March 8 to April 3. Uncapped spinning all-rounder Liam Dawson has been included in England”s squad despite head coach Trevor Bayliss never having watched him play.

England Cricket Board still having problems to accommodate the star batsman, Kevin Pietersen. Pietersen was in red-hot form in South Africa”s domestic T20 competition and the KFC Big Bash League for the Melbourne Stars along with his teammate Luke Wright. Though Wright was recalled in the squad, the board continued their ignorance to Pietersen.

Along with the Head coach Trevor Bayliss, former Sri Lanka elegant batsman, Mahela Jayawardene will work with the England side for a period of 10 days, while former England skipper Paul Collingwood will also join the Sri Lankan in helping the team adapt to the conditions.

Eoin Morgan will the side, which will kick start their tournament on March 16 against 2012 World T20 Champions, West Indies. Sri Lanka, South Africa and a qualifier form the rest of their group.

England Squad: Eoin Morgan (Captain), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker