Cricket News

World Test Championship: India Back To Number 1 Spot After Beating Australia

India top the points table while Australia are placed third.

Indian have climbed back to the number one spot in the World Test Championship after beating Australia 2-1 in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21. Heading into the final Test match at the Gabba 1-1 India scored 324 on the final day to beat Aussies at The Gabba after 31 years. Doing which, they have regained the top spot in the points table after Australia topped the group for a while based on percentage. 

India now have 430 points (71.67%) from five-Test series played. India have played a total of 13 matches across the five series. Australia meanwhile have dropped down to third place with 332 points (69.17%). They have played 14 matches across four series in the meantime. Australia have a deficit of 98 points with India and 88 points with the second-place New Zealand team. The ICC tweeted about India’s rise to the top after they beat Australia at The Gabba.

India Tops World Test Championship Points Table

Also Read: India Announce Squad For The First Two Tests Against England; Virat Kohli Returns

England with 352 points and South Africa with 140 points form the top five teams in the table at the moment. Bangladesh are yet to get off the mark in the WTC campaign

Meanwhile, the BCCI has announced the Indian squad for the England Test series which starts from February 5. To reach 505 points, India need to beat England by a margin of 4-0 or 3-0 or 3-1 or 2-0.

England will tour India between February 5 to March 28 for four Tests, five T20Is and three ODIs. Chennai will host the first two Tests. The third Test in Ahmedabad will be a day-night Test match between both teams. The final two Tests will be played at the newly built stadium in Ahmedabad. 

Ahmedabad will also host all of the five T20Is as it will be played under a bio-bubble. It is currently unclear whether the matches will be played behind closed doors, or with fans allowed in. After the T20Is, the ODI leg of the series will be played in Pune. All three matches will be played in Pune in another bio-bubble environment.

Also Read: Virat Kohli, Ravi Shastri React After India Win Border-Gavaskar Trophy



Anshuman Roy

A cricket and sports enthusiast having previously worked with Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint and now with Cricfit.

Related Articles

Back to top button