Home Cricket News WPL 2023: Alyssa Healy Named As UP Warriorz Captain

WPL 2023: Alyssa Healy Named As UP Warriorz Captain

WPL 2023: Alyssa Healy Named As UP Warriorz Captain

The Australian wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy has been named as the captain of the UP Warriorz side for the inaugural Women’s Premier League 2023 starting from 4 March onwards.

She was bought for Rs 70 Lakhs by Capri Global Holdings Private Limited-owned franchise. UP Warriorz has a well-balanced side put during the WPL auctions on February 13. She is looking impressive in the ongoing ICC T20 Women’s World Cup.

Australia qualified for the semi-finals of the tournament without losing any matches in the league stage. Healy is currently the third leading run-getter with 146 runs from 3 matches besides Smriti Mandhana and Nat Sciver Brunt. She did not feature in the last league match against South Africa due to precautionary suffered to her calf. Healy would be hoping to be fit for the semi-finals against the Indian team on 23 February in Cape Town.

UP Warriorz has a well-rounded unit with the likes of Sophie Ecclestone for Rs 1.80 Crore, Deepti Sharma, 2.60 Crore, Tahila McGrath for 1.40 Crore, Shabnim Ismail for 1 Crore, Anjali Sarvani 55 Lakhs, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 40 Lakhs, Parasvhi Chopra 10 Lakhs, Shweta Seharwat 40 Lakhs, Soppadhandi Yashashri 10 Lakhs, Kiran Navgire 30 Lakhs, Grace Harris 75 Lakhs, Devika Vaidya 1.40 Crore, Lauren Bell 30 Lakhs, Laxmi Yadav 10 Lakhs and Simran Sheikh 10 Lakhs.

A total of 12 Crore Rs has been spent with 16 players in the squad. The tournament will be played in two venues in Mumbai, CCI Brabourne Stadium, and DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai. UP Warriorz would start their tournament against Gujarat Giants on 5 March at DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.

“The WPL is a tournament we have all been keenly waiting on, and the UP Warriorz has a fantastic squad, waiting to make a splash once things get going,” Healy said in a statement issued by Warriorz. “We have a good mix of experience and youth along with the ability and look forward to putting on a show for our fans. We are here to win and be ruthless in our brand of cricket.”

Alyssa Healy’s record in T20I format

Alyssa Healy has been a part of the Australian team that won T20 World Cups on five occasions including 2010, 2012, 2014, 2018, and 2020. In the absence of regular captain Meg Lanning, Healy took the charge during the T20I series against India in India last year.

Healy has been an aggressive opener proving her worth. She has played 148 T20I matches ( 139 innings) with 2446 runs at a strike rate of 127.72. The opener achieved the highest unbeaten 148.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts