Home Cricket News WTC Final: First Batch Of Team India Players To Leave For London On Tuesday

WTC Final: First Batch Of Team India Players To Leave For London On Tuesday

WTC Final: First Batch Of Team India Players To Leave For London On Tuesday
India. Photo: Twitter

Veteran batter Virat Kohli and pacer Mohammed Siraj are among the first batch of Team India cricketers who will leave for England on Tuesday, May 23 ahead of the World Test Championship final. The final will take place from June 7 to June 11 against Australia at the Kennington Oval in London.

The Indian players will reach London in batches. The first batch includes Virat Kohli, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Jaydev Unadkat, reported Sportstar. All of these cricketers, except Jaydev Unadkat, are from the teams that failed to make it to the playoff of the 2023 Indian Premier League. Unadkat, who played for the Lucknow Super Giants, sustained an injury and was ruled out.

The Sportstar reported that both Jaydev Unadkat and Umesh Yadav have been declared fit by the National Cricket Academy. Meanwhile, Ravichandran Ashwin who played for the Rajasthan Royals, will join the team mid-week. The first batch along with six cricketers, also includes the reserve and support bowlers and the support staff. Among the reserves is Mukesh Kumar, who will be travelling with the first batch. Meanwhile, Aniket Choudhary, Akash Deep and Yarra Prithviraj, have been selected as net bowlers.

Cheteshwar Pujara to join the WTC squad later this week

Team India batter Cheteshwar Pujara will join the preparations for World Test Championship final later this week. He is already in England playing County Championship Division Two for Surrey. The veteran batter has been in terrific form and is the second-leading run-scorer so far in Division Two.

Meanwhile, Team India skipper Rohit Sharma, along with the remaining players from the World Test Championship squad will travel to England after the conclusion of the Indian Premier League. The remaining players along with reserves Suryakumar Yadav and Ruturaj Gaikwad are expected to leave for London on May 29.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts