Home Cricket News WTC Final: India Squad Announced For The Final Against Australia

WTC Final: India Squad Announced For The Final Against Australia

WTC Final: India Squad Announced For The Final Against Australia
India. Photo: Twitter

The Board of Cricket Control of India announced 15 men’s squads for the ICC World Test Championship final to be played against Australia from 7 June onwards at Kennington Oval, London. Ajiyanka Rahane who has been in excellent form during the 2022-23 Ranji Trophy season for Mumbai.

During the 2022-23 Ranji Trophy season, Rahane scored 634 from 7 matches including a double century against Hyderabad and 191 runs against Assam. He was bought by the Chennai Super Kings franchise with a price of Rs 50 Lakhs and has done wonders so far.

He has proven to be a great addition for Chennai Super Kings this season with 209 runs from 5 matches at a stunning strike rate of 199.05 including 2 half-centuries. Rahane has played some brilliant knocks this season far with a quickfire 61 against Mumbai Indians and then played a blinder against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Ajiyanka Rahane was a part of the team that took part in the first edition of the WTC finals against New Zealand. Rahane did not feature in the Indian Test squad since the Cape Town Test last year against South Africa.

He struggled with scores of 1 and 9. Rahane hammered the KKR bowlers with 71 off 29 deliveries. With no Shreyas Iyer due to an injury, the stalwart would be looking to make an impact in the finals against Australia.

Ajinkya Rahane has been added to the India squad

Ajinkya Rahane India Aakash Chopra
Ajinkya Rahane (Credit: BCCI)

The Indian Team for the second edition of the World Test Championship finals will be played from 7th June onwards including reserve day.  Rohit Sharma will lead the squad and is likely to open with Shubman Gill.

Indian middle order comprises Chetehswar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ajiyanka Rahane, and KS Bharat. KS Bharat has been named as the wicketkeeper for this match.

The all-around department consists of Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, and Shardul Thakur. Indian pace bowling unit looks strong with the likes of Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, and Jaydev Unadkat.

Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Axar Patel comprise spin bowling options. The players who will be not there in the playoffs of IPL 2023 would be with Rahul Dravid and Co to England.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts