Home Cricket News WWC17 : ICC announces team & captain of the ICC Women”s World...

WWC17 : ICC announces team & captain of the ICC Women”s World Cup 2017

The 2017 edition of the Women’s World Cup got its winner on Sunday as England emerged victorious defeating India by 9 runs in the prestigious final at the mecca of cricket. Anay Shrubsole chocked the Indian middle-order taking six wickets and was crowned the man of the match.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the team of ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 today which includes four players from England along with the player of the tournament Tamsin Beaumont. Mithali Raj was announced the captain of the team after she leads a relatively younger team to the finals of the tournament. She led by an example as she came one run short of the highest run-getter scoring 409 runs in matches.

Raj was at her best self when she scored 106 runs to take India to the semifinal in a do-or-die match against New Zealand in Derby. The number two ranked batter also scored three fifties against England in the first match of the tournament and Sri Lanka and Australia In the group stages.

The team had four English players, three from India and South Africa each and a lone player from Australia. The four English players were Tamsin Beaumont, Anay Shrubsole, left-arm spinner Alex Hartley and the experienced wicket-keeper-batter Sarah Taylor.

From India, along with Raj, the team consisted of Harmanjeet Kaur and Deepti Sharma for their brilliance in the field. Opening batswoman Laura Wolvaardt and bowlers Marizanne Kapp and Dane van Niekerk were selected from South Africa, and Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry.

England’s Natalie Sciver was chosen as the 12th player on the team who scored 369 runs and took seven wickets for her team.

The team of the tournament was selected by a five member panel constituting Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket, and Chairman Event Technical Committee), former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, former England captain Charlotte Edwards, former India player turned journalist Snehal Pradhan and former Australia all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar.

However, Raj, Shrubsole, and Taylor have been chosen for the second time in the team of the tournament. While Raj and Taylor were chosen for the team in the 2009th edition, Anay Shrubsole was selected in the World Cup team of 2013.

TEAM OF THE TOURNAMENT: Tamsin Beaumont (England), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Mithali Raj (captain) (India), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper), Harmanpreet Kaur (India), Deepti Sharma (India), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Alex Hartley (England). Natalie Sciver (12th) (England)