Home BBL Zak Crawley Named As Overseas Replacement For The Hobart Hurricanes

Zak Crawley Named As Overseas Replacement For The Hobart Hurricanes

Zak Crawley Named As Overseas Replacement For The Hobart Hurricanes
Zak Crawley. (Image: Twitter)

The Big Bash League’s upcoming season is all set to begin on 13th December. This season saw the introduction of the draft systems and will see the introduction of the DRS system in all games. 

England’s test opener, Zak Crawley, has been signed as a replacement by the Hobart Hurricanes for Pakistan all-rounder Shadab Khan who will be missing a few games due to international commitments.

Crawley will join the Hurricanes after completing the three-test match series versus Pakistan. This is his first outing in the BBL. In the previous Ashes series, he impressed all, including Former Australia Captain Ricky Ponting, with his attacking approach. He has expressed his excitement about being part of the BBL. 

“I’m really excited to take part in the Big Bash for the first time. From afar, the Hurricanes seem to be awash with talent both in terms of the list they have built for on-field success, but also the quality list of support staff they have on it. I’m looking forward to taking part in what I hope will be a very successful summer,” said the English cricketer after signing up for the franchise.

The statement from the franchise read, “Zak Crawley is poised to make his Big Bash League debut with the Hobart Hurricanes, after being named as an international replacement player for the Hobart Hurricanes.”

Crawley scored 1284 runs in 47 T20 matches at a strike rate of 145.08. He is still yet to make his debut in the shortest format for England. Crawley will aim to maximise his chances in Australia to make an impact.

Hobart Hurricanes Squad for the upcoming season of the Big Bash League: Asif Ali (Pakistan), Faheem Ashraf (Pakistan), Zak Crawley (England), Tim David, Paddy Dooley, Nathan Ellis, Caleb Jewell, Shadab Khan (Pakistan), Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitch Owen, Joel Paris, Wil Parker, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade, Mac Wright

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts