Home News Vidarbha beat Delhi by 9 wickets to win their maiden Ranji Trophy...

Vidarbha beat Delhi by 9 wickets to win their maiden Ranji Trophy title

(Pic Source: BCCI)

Vidarbha created history by beating Delhi on the 4th and final day of the Ranji Trophy finals played at Holkar Stadium, Indore. It was a team performance who outplayed Delhi in all departments. Delhi was bowled out for 280 in the second innings giving a target of 29 runs. Wasim Jaffer hit the winning runs and won Ranji Trophy title for the first time.

Vidarbha started the day on 528 for 7 with Wadkar and Neral at the crease. They added just 19 runs and were bowled out for 547. Wadkar was the top scorer with 133 runs. It gave Vidarbha a massive lead of 252. Chandela and Gambhir played with positive intent putting on 32 runs for the first wicket. Chandela was dismissed for 9 runs. Gambhir looked in aggressive touch with good quality strokes. Gurbani took the wicket of experienced Gambhir to leave Delhi at 50 for 2. Nitish Rana and first innings centurion Dhruv Shorey ended the first session at 74 for 2.

In the second session, both batsmen played with positive intent. Shorey completed his half-century off 106 balls and continued to put pressure on Vidarbha bowlers. Also, Nitish Rana reached 50 off 100 balls. Sarwate broke the partnership of 114 runs by dismissing Dhruv Shorey for 62. Before the tea interval, Gurbani dismissed Rana for 64. Delhi went into the tea break at 189 for 4.

The third session saw Vidarbha bowlers with disciplined line and length. Captain Risbabh Pant played aggressive strokes and was trying to put pressure on the opposition bowlers with big hits. Delhi lost wickets at regular intervals. Vikas Mishra played a quickfire knock of 34 runs to save them from an innings defeat. Vidarbha bowled out Delhi for 280.

On the third day when Vidarbha was struggling at 246 for 6, the 7th wicket partnership of 169 runs between Sarwate and Wadkar made life tough for Delhi. Also, Wadkar and Neral added 132 for the 8th wicket created more pressure on Delhi.

Chasing the target of 29, captain Faiz Faizal was dismissed for 2. Wasim Jaffer and Sanjay Ramaswamy put on unbeaten 27 runs to help Vidarbha win their maiden Ranji Trophy title.

Vidarbha 547 in 163.4 overs (Wadkar 133, Faiz Fazal 67, Wasim Jaffer 78, Sarwate 79, Neral 74,  Akash Sudan & Navdeep Saini 5/135) and 32 for 1 in 5 overs (Wasim Jaffer 17*, Ramaswamy 9*) beat Delhi 295 in 102.5 overs (Dhurv Shorey 145, Gurbani 6/59, Thakare 2/74) and 280 in 76 overs (Nitish Rana 64, Dhurv Shorey 62, Wakhare 4/ 95, Sarwate 3/30)  by 9 wickets