6 Afghanistan Cricketers Including Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi To Miss CPL 2020 Playoffs

Afghanistan cricketers to miss CPL 2020 playoffs

The ongoing edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) has made a blistering start. It has certainly lifted up the excitement of the cricket fans after a gap of almost four-five months break. Meanwhile, six Afghanistan cricketers including Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and Mohammad Nabi can miss the final week of CPL 2020 including the playoffs.

Rashid, Nabi, and Mujeeb are a pivotal part of their team and plays significant roles in their team’s success. It will be a massive blow to their franchises if the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) asks their players to come back.

Six Afghanistan cricketers to miss CPL 2020 playoffs

The cricketers might have to return to Kabul to play in the Shpageeza Cricket League, Afghanistan’s domestic T20 competition. With the CPL 2020 schedule to take place on September 10, the T20 tournament is scheduled between September 6-16.

The six-team affair will feature 19 matches including four play-offs and will take place at the Kabul International Stadium. Rashid (Barbados Tridents), Mujeeb (Jamaica Tallawahs), Naveen-ul-Haq (Guyana Amazon Warriors), and the St Lucia Zouks trio of Nabi, Zahir Khan and Najibullah Zadran are the Afghanistan players taking part in the 2020 CPL.

Afghanistan cricketers to miss CPL 2020 playoffs

ACB has said that they want the Afghans players back for Shpageeza Cricket League barring logistical or government issues. Meanwhile, the initial plan was to bring back the players to Kabul by September 5. However, with Trinidad keeping its border closed, the cricketers might miss a couple of games in the first week.

“We have sent an email to Cricket West Indies. We will have players from CPL on September 5,” Abdulrahimzai told ESPNcricinfo. “They are aware about that. They are just waiting for the flight details so they will prepare for the players to fly out,” he added. 

Initially, ACB had provided the NOC to players stating that they will be available for the full tournament. However, now, they are working with Cricket West Indies (CWI) to find out a solution. CWI had informed them that players would only be able to exit the CPL’s biosecure bubble after getting permission from the Trinidad government.

Meanwhile, Rashid Khan represents the Band-e-Amir Dragons in the Shpageeza League, while Mohammad Nabi captains the Mis-e-Ainak Knights. Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Naveen-ul-Haq play for the Kabul Eagles, and Najibullah Zadran and Zahir Khan the Speenghar Tigers.