Aakash Chopra Feels Sourav Ganguly XI Will Beat Virat Kohli XI

Aakash Chopra (Credit: Twitter)

Former India opener Aakash Chopra is currently one of the hottest properties on social media platforms. He is arguably one of the best commentators in the country. Recently, Aakash Chopra sat down to make two Indian Test teams with one led by Sourav Ganguly and the other one by current captain Virat Kohli.

It would be a dream-like situation if Jasprit Bumrah had a go against Sachin Tendulkar or Zaheer Khan trying to break the defence of Cheteshwar Pujara. Recently, Chopra, who made his debut under Ganguly built two hypothetical teams to face each other.

Aakash Chopra picks Sourav Ganguly XI, Virat Kohli XI

In Sourav Ganguly’s XI, Aakash Chopra decided to open with himself and Virender Sehwag. He went with Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar as his No. 3 and No. 4 respectively. Chopra named VVS Laxman as the No.5 batsman followed by Ganguly.

Sourav Ganguly and Virat Kohli (Credit: Twitter)

The former cricketer picked Parthiv Patel as the wicket-keeper of the side with Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble as the spinners. Zaheer Khan and Ajit Agarkar will be in charge of the pace attack.

On the other hand, Aakash Chopra named Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal as openers in the XI led by Virat Kohli. Cheteshwar Pujara will come in at No.3 followed the skipper himself. Ajinkya Rahane and the ever-impressive Hanuma Vihari will complete the middle-order.

Meanwhile, Chopra picked Wriddhiman Saha as the wicket-keeper, whom he referred to as one of the best in the business. R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were preferred as the spinners. Chopra, understandably, had some difficulties in picking the two fast bowlers but went in with Ishant Sharma and anyone between Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami.

The cricketer-turned-commentator made man-to-man comparisons before concluding that Sourav Ganguly XI will beat Virat Kohli XI on any given day.

Sourav Ganguly XI:

Virender Sehwag, Aakash Chopra, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Sourav Ganguly, Parthiv Patel, Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar

Virat Kohli XI:

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami/Jasprit Bumrah