Aakash Chopra Picks His All-Time CPL XI

Aakash Chopra (Credit: Twitter)

Former Team India opener Aakash Chopra has carved a nice for himself as a commentator following his retirement. His sharp criticisms and on-point analysis have earned him a lot of praise. Aakash Chopra has been in the news in recent times revealing his choices and recently picked the all-time CPL XI.

Meanwhile, CPL 2020 is all set to run from August 18 and buzz has already started. It will be the first T20 league amid the COVID-19 pandemic. As the tournament sets to take a grip, Aakash sat down to pick his favourite team from the league.

The former Delhi opener made startling choices picking three left-handed for the top three. Aakash Chopra went with Chris Gayle and Colin Munro as openers while Nicholas Pooran will come at one down. Pooran is one of the highly-rated cricketers in the circuit and his ability to strike the ball has earned him quite a praise.

Aakash stuffed the middle-order with a number of all-rounders, who are legends of the game. Shoaib Malik, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo will lead the charge with the bat from middle to lower-middle order. All of these cricketers have been the flag bearer of T20 cricket across the globe.

CPL 2020 squads

Barbados Tridents won the CPL last year in 2019.

Veteran spinner Sunil Narine is the only specialist spinner in the team. He has been a star attraction wherever he goes with his variations. Narine has also developed his batting which gives every team an extra edge.

Aakash Chopra also went with three left-arm fast bowlers to complete the team. Sheldon Cottrell, who has been exceptional in the last couples of years along with Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir and Krishmar Santokie with guard the pace battery.

All-time CPL XI of Aakash Chopra:

Chris Gayle, Colin Munro, Nicholas Pooran, Shoaib Malik, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Cottrell, Sohail Tanvir, Krishmar Santokie.