Home Cricket News Aaqib Javed Believes Pakistan Can Defeat India In The ODI World Cup

Aaqib Javed Believes Pakistan Can Defeat India In The ODI World Cup

Aaqib Javed Believes Pakistan Can Defeat India In The ODI World Cup

Ex-Pakistani cricketer and World Cup champion Aaqib Javed thinks that Pakistan possesses the ability to defeat India in the upcoming ODI World Cup this year.

Javed highlighted the Pakistan team’s equilibrium in comparison to the Men in Blue. He also asserted that a few standout Indian players lack the necessary fitness for top-level performance and are struggling to regain their prime form.

Addressing the reporters, Aaqib Javed shared his thoughts on the India-Pakistan showdown (via Cricwick):

“I think Pakistan side is balanced and the age graph of players is much better, India are on that stage where they have big names but their fitness and form is not up to the mark.”

“They will struggle and might have to find new players to form a combination. I think Pakistan have a great chance of beating India in India.”

Aqib Javed ranks Zaman Khan above Naseem Shah in terms of ability

Currently, Pakistan boasts a stable pace-bowling lineup for limited-overs cricket, featuring Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, and Naseem Shah. Nevertheless, Aaqib Javed suggests that Zaman Khan should take Naseem’s place as the third fast bowler in Pakistan’s white-ball cricket team.

As the coach of Lahore Qalandars, Javed has closely collaborated with Zaman. He believes that Zaman is exceptional in the final stages of the game and should be deployed by the Pakistani national team. He stated:

“In white-ball cricket, the skills that Zaman Khan has, we have recently been in Canada, I think he is one of the best death ball bowlers in the world riight now.”

“I rate him higher than Naseem in white-ball cricket. Shaheen, Haris and Zaman, they should be your bowlers in white-ball cricket and then you can go down to Naseem Shah.”

The list of players selected for Pakistan’s ODI Squad in the Afghanistan series and Asia Cup:

Babar Azam, Tayyab Tahir,  Shadab Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaheen Afridi, Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Wasim.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts