Home IPL All you need to know about Base Price of Players at IPL Auction 2018

All you need to know about Base Price of Players at IPL Auction 2018


Even though India is playing in South Africa at the moment, Indian fans have got their eyes on January 27 and 28, the IPL auction! After teams announced their choices of retention, it has been learned that a total of 1122 players have registered themselves for the auction.

These 5 overseas players are likely to earn millions in IPL 2018 Auctions

The players have been categorized as per their base price. Three of the main categories are of 2 crores, 1.5 Crore, and 1 Crore respectively. Other than that, there are smaller categories in lakhs as well.

They are further sub-divided into
281 Capped, 838 Uncapped, 778 Uncapped Indian and 282 Overseas players.

Big boost for Royal Challengers Bangalore ahead of IPL 11

Countrywise, the division is
Afghanistan: 13, Australia: 58, Bangladesh: 8, England: 26, Ireland: 2, New Zealand: 30, Scotland: 1, South Africa: 57, Sri Lanka: 39, USA: 2, West Indies: 39, Zimbabwe: 7

Players in 2 crores category
Indian players: R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, M Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Karn Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Robin Uthappa.

This Bollywood actor is keen on buying an IPL Team

Overseas players: Rashid Khan, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc, Cameron White, Eoin Morgan, Liam Plunkett, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Corey Anderson, Brendon McCullum, Quinton de Kock, Colin Ingram, Angelo Mathews, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard.

Here’s the list of players retained by teams for IPL 2018

INR 1.5 crore (USD 235,000 approx.): Aaron Finch, Amit Mishra, David Miller, Evin Lewis, Faf du Plessis, Harry Gurney, Hashim Amla, Jason Holder, Jason Roy, Jaydev Unadkat, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Kagiso Rabada, Kane Williamson, Kuldeep Yadav, Kyle Abbott, Lendl Simmons, Mark Wood, Michael Klinger, Moeen Ali, Mohit Sharma, Moises Henriques, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Nathan Lyon, Peter Handscomb, Ravi Bopara, Shaun Marsh, Steven Finn, Travis Head, Trent Boult, Washington Sundar.

INR 1 crore (USD 160,000 approx.): Adam Zampa, Alex Hales, Andrew Tye, Ben Cutting, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Jordan, Dale Steyn, Daniel Christian, Dwayne Smith, Jason Behrendorff, JP Duminy, Lasith Malinga, Manish Pandey, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Imran Tahir, Mustafizur Rahman, Parthiv Patel, Piyush Chawla, Sam Billings, Samuel Badree, Sanju Samson, Shakib Al Hasan, Shane Watson, Tim Southee, Tom Curran, Tymal Mills, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Wriddhiman Saha

The eleventh edition of IPL is likely to commence on April 4 with the final penciled in on May 27.

– by Atharva Apte

Latest Posts