Home Cricket News ICC Awards 2017: Virat Kohli gets major awards; Named Captain of both...

ICC Awards 2017: Virat Kohli gets major awards; Named Captain of both ICC Test & ODI Teams

After the series loss to South Africa, the Indian captain Virat Kohli gets major awards announced by the ICC for the year 2017. It was an amazing year for Kohli who scored many runs in all formats during 2017, after Ravichandran Ashwin, he was awarded Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy Cricketer of the year. The performances have been taken from September 2016 until December 2017.

The Indian captain Kohli was also awarded the ODI cricketer of the year for consistent performance in limited overs cricket in 2017. Apart from that, he has been named as the captain of ICC Men’s test team of the year and also ICC Men’s ODI team of the year for 2017. In the men’s test team 3 Indians have been included with Pujara, Kohli, and Ashwin.

In the ICC ODI team of the year, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Virat Kohli have been included in the team.

Steve Smith was awarded the test cricketer of the year for 2017. He scored 1875 runs in 16 matches. The Australian test captain played a key role in Australia retaining the 2017/18 Ashes.

Hasan Ali was named as the ICC Emerging player of the year 2017. Afghanistan young leg-spinner Rashid Khan was awarded best Associate Cricketer of year. Yuzvendra Chahal 6 for 25 against England at Bengaluru got the best ICC Men’s T20I performance of the year.

Marais Erasmus was awarded David Shepherd for ICC Umpire of the year. Pakistan stunning India to win ICC Champions Trophy 2017 was ICC fans moment of the year.

Here we look at the awards

  1. Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer the year- Virat Kohli (India)
  2. ICC Men’s test cricketer of the year – Steve Smith (Australia)
  3. ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the year- Virat Kohli (India)
  4. ICC Men’s Emerging player of the year- Hassan Ali ( Pakistan)
  5. ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of year- Rashid Khan ( Afghanistan)
  6. ICC Men’s T20I performer the year- Yuzvendra Chahal (India)
  7. David Shepherd for ICC Umpire of year- Marais Erasmus
  8. ICC Spirit of Cricket- Anny Shrubsole
  9. ICC Fans moment of the year- Pakistan winning the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 by beating India.


ICC Men’s ODI team of the year

  1. Virat Kohli (Captain), India
  2. Dean Elgar ( South Africa)
  3. David Warner ( Australia)
  4. Steve Smith ( Australia)
  5. Cheteshwar Pujara (India)
  6. Ben Stokes ( England)
  7. Quinton de Kock ( WK) ( South Africa)
  8. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
  9. Mitchell Starc ( Australia)
  10. Kagiso Rabada ( South Africa)
  11. James Anderson ( England)


ICC Men’s ODI team of year

  1. Virat Kohli (Captain) (India)
  2. David Warner ( Australia)
  3. Rohit Sharma (India)
  4. Babar Azam ( Pakistan)
  5. AB de Villiers ( South Africa)
  6. Quinton de Kock ( WK) ( South Africa)
  7. Ben Stokes ( England)
  8. Trent Boult ( New Zealand)
  9. Hasan Ali ( Pakistan)
  10. Rashid Khan ( Afghanistan)
  11. Jasprit Bumrah (India)