Home BBL Andrew Tye Becomes The Fastest Bowler To 300 T20 Wickets

Andrew Tye Becomes The Fastest Bowler To 300 T20 Wickets

Andrew Tye Becomes The Fastest Bowler To 300 T20 Wickets

On Saturday, February 4, Perth Scorchers fast bowler Andrew Tye took his 300th T20 wicket during his team’s Big Bash League (BBL) game against the Brisbane Heat at Perth Stadium.

Tye accomplished the feat in the 20th over of the first innings when he dismissed James Bazley. The fast bowler delivered a low full-toss delivery on the off-stump, and the batter tried to heave it to the leg-side, only to hole out to the mid-wicket fielder.

The senior Australian pacer became the fastest to 300 T20 wickets with the wicket. He surpassed Rashid Khan, who reached the mark in 213 games.

Tye, on the other hand, achieved the milestone in 211 games, two fewer than the star Afghan leg-spinner.
Since his debut in the shortest format of the game in 2014, the Western Australian cricketer has been outstanding. He is a T20 world traveller who has also played in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Last year, he played for the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and took two wickets in three games. Tye has 42 wickets in 30 games, including three four-wicket hauls and a fifer. Despite reaching a special milestone, Andrew Tye had an ordinary game with the ball, conceding 42 runs in four overs at a 10.50 economy rate.

Andrew Tye made headlines with his performance

The Scorchers, on the other hand, fought back, with Nathan McSweeney holding one end tightly, scoring 41 off 37 deliveries. However, quickfire knocks from Sam Hain (21* off 16 balls) and Max Bryant (31 off 14 balls) propelled the Heat to 175/7 in their allotted 20 overs.

The Scorchers started well as well, with the top order contributing small but crucial knocks. Aaron Hardie hit 17 off 13 balls before being caught out by Spencer Johnson’s delivery in the eighth over. With only 67/3 on the board after ten overs of play, the Heat were in command.

Turner and Josh Inglis, however, put on a crucial 80-run partnership for the fourth wicket to keep the game alive. Turner top-scored 53 off 32 balls before being run out in the 17th over, while Inglis scored 26. In the death overs, Nick Hobson and Cooper Connolly maintained the momentum and chased the target with four balls remaining.

When the Scorchers needed nine runs off the last five balls, Hobson smashed a six and a four (off a no-ball). Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, and Matthew Kuhnemann each took one wicket, but Michael Neser, who had been instrumental in the Heat’s run to the final, was unable to make an impact with either bat or ball.

Perth Scorchers lifted their record fifth Big Bash League title.

Get the latestĀ cricket newsĀ here, like us onĀ Facebook, and follow us onĀ TwitterĀ andĀ InstagramĀ for more such updates.

Latest Posts