Home Cricket News Anustup Majumdar To Lead Bengal, Mohammed Shami’s Younger Brother Also Picked For...

Anustup Majumdar To Lead Bengal, Mohammed Shami’s Younger Brother Also Picked For Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 Tournament

Bengal Anustup Majumdar Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
(Credits: PTI)

Anustup Majumdar will be captaining Bengal in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament. The seasoned batsman was outstanding with the bat in the last edition of the tournament. Majumdar averaged 58.66 and 704 runs from eight matches as Bengal finished as runners-up.

This year he will have the pressure of captaincy as he has replaced Abhimanyu Easwaran as the leader of Bengal. Interestingly, Cricket Association of Bengal made it clear that Majumdar will be the skipper only for the domestic T20 tournament as they want to relieve Easwaran from captaincy burden.

Experienced wicket-keeper batsman Shreevats Goswami will be Majumdar’s deputy in the tournament. Also, Mohammed Shami’s younger brother Mohammed Kaif is also part of the Bengal squad. Kaif is a talented seam bowling all-rounder and he will be aiming to make a name for himself the competitive T20 tournament.

Anustup Majumdar To Lead Bengal In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament

Talking about the new captain of Bengal Majumdar, he was recently praised by none other than VVS Laxman. The former India batsman who is also Bengal’s batting consultant holds that Majumdar will thrive under the pressure of captaincy and continue to score runs.

“I don’t think captaincy will affect Abhimanyu Easwaran’s performances at all. I believe additional responsibility is much better”, Laxman had said.

Also Read: Mumbai Name Squad For Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy; Suryakumar Yadav To Lead

Meanwhile, Bengal is part of Group B along with Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand, Odisha, Assam and Hyderabad. They will kick off their campaign against Odisa, in the opening match of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament on January 10.

Complete Bengal Squad: Anustup Majumdar (captain), Shreevats Goswami (vice-captain), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Manoj Tiwary, Sudi Chatterjee, Ishan Porel, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury, Vivek Singh, Shahbaz Ahmed, Arnab Nandi, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep, Abhishek Das, Mohammed Kaif, Aritra Chatterjee, Suvankar Bal, Writtick Chatterjee, Prayas Ray Barman, Kaif Ahmed, Ravi Kant Singh.

 Also Read: S Sreesanth Picked In Kerala’s Squad For Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy