Cricket NewsSyed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Mumbai Name Squad For Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy; Suryakumar Yadav To Lead

Star batsman Suryakumar Yadav will lead a star-studded Mumbai side in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy starting next month. Meanwhile, jun Tendulkar, son of India legend Sachin Tendulkar, missed out on making it to Mumbai’s 20-member squad after failing to impress in the practice game.

The young all-rounder was close to making his senior team debut after he was included in Team D for the practice matches before the team selection. The 21-year-old scalped four wickets in as many matches and scored 7 runs in three innings. Since the BCCI is only expected to organise the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Arjun’s wait to play senior cricket could be delayed by a year.

Arjun Tendulkar fails to miss the cut in Mumbai squad

Meanwhile, Suryakumar Yadav, who is knocking the Team India doors will lead the side. The top-order batsman impressed one and all with his stellar show with the bat and was one of the significant factors in helping Mumbai Indians defend their title in IPL 2020. Former Mumbai captain Aditya Tare will assist Suryakumar as the vice-captain.

Also Read: Jasprit Bumrah Hails Mohammad Siraj After Impressive Test Debut

Yashasvi Jaiswal, who scored 164 runs in practice matches, also made the cut. He hasn’t played T20 cricket for Mumbai. Capped all-rounder Shivam Dube is also a member of the 20-member squad. The young all-rounder will be desperate to prove a point to the national selectors after he was left out of the limited-overs leg for the Australia tour. He has largely been inconsistent in whatever opportunities have come his way and will look to make a mark as India continue to search for a genuine all-rounder as Hardik Pandya’s back-up.

Meanwhile, Mumbai will miss the service of senior cricketers Shreyas Iyer and Shardul Thakur. While Iyer has been ruled out with a shoulder injury he suffered during the IPL and aggravated during the Australia tour, Shardul is currently with Team India for the ongoing Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

As per Mumbai Cricket Association’s release, the players will have to report at Wankhede Stadium on December 29. They will have to carry COVID-19 negative reports.

Also Read: Will MS Dhoni Play Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Ahead Of IPL 2021? The Cricketer Answers

Mumbai squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Aditya Tare (Vice-Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Aakarshit Gomel, Sarfaraz Khan, Siddhesh Lad, Shivam Dube, Shubham Ranjane, Sujit Nayak, Sairaj Patil, Tushar Deshpande, Dhawal Kulkarni, Minad Manjrekar, Prathamesh Dake, Atharva Ankolekar, Shashank Attarde, Shams Mulani, Hardik Tamore, Akash Parkar, Sufiyan Shaikh

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making a living watching and working around his favourite sport.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :