Home Asian Games 2023 Asian Games: Team India Players Gather For A Photo In Hangzhou

Asian Games: Team India Players Gather For A Photo In Hangzhou

Asian Games: Team India Players Gather For A Photo In Hangzhou

The members of Team India‘s cricket squad recently gathered in Hangzhou as they prepared to compete in the 19th Asian Games hosted in the city. Given the simultaneous scheduling of the ODI World Cup, selectors have assembled a secondary squad for this event, appointing Ruturaj Gaikwad as the captain.

India is slated to begin their campaign in the tournament with a direct entry into the quarter-finals on October 3 at the Pingfeng Campus Cricket Field in Hangzhou. The players, accompanied by the support staff led by VVS Laxman, arrived in China last Thursday, September 28.

On Sunday, the young opening batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal posted a group photograph of the Indian team at the Asian Games on his official Instagram account. He added a caption to the post:

“Team India 🇮🇳 at the @ag2022official #TeamIndia #AsianGames #AG2023 #YBJ.”


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Yashasvi Jaiswal (@yashasvijaiswal28)

“It’s a strong side”- WV Raman regarding the Indian Men’s cricket team for the 2023 Asian Games

Former Indian cricketer WV Raman recently assessed the Men’s squad chosen for the Asian Games. He expressed his view that the selectors have assembled a formidable group of players with a track record of success in domestic cricket and the IPL. During a conversation on the Sony Sports Network, Raman stated:

“It’s a strong side as well because all of them have been really doing well in all formats that they’ve been playing – be it the IPL, domestic cricket or sporadic appearances for the main side.”

He added: “They’ve been doing really well, so it’s a very strong side and quite obviously I would expect them to come back with the gold medal. It gives us a measure of how strong the system is and gives us a measure of what kind of depth we have as far as talent is concerned in this country.”

Squad for the 19th Asian Games: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wicketkeeper), Akash Deep.

List of standby players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts