Home Cricket News AUS vs WI: Australia Announce Squad For ODI Series, Steve Smith To Lead

AUS vs WI: Australia Announce Squad For ODI Series, Steve Smith To Lead

AUS vs WI: Australia Announce Squad For ODI Series, Steve Smith To Lead

Australia named a 13-member squad for the upcoming 3-match One-day International series against West Indies. The major news included that Steve Smith would lead the side in the absence of Pat Cummins. Pat Cummins has been rested keeping his workload during the 3-match Test series against Pakistan and will play 2 more Test matches against West Indies starting from 17th January 2024.

The pace trio of Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins has been rested due to the heavy workload that they did during the 3 test matches against Pakistan and the upcoming 2 test matches against the West Indies.

“It is a little over 12 months until the Champions Trophy and further opportunities for the likes of Aaron Hardie, Matt Short, Jhye Richardson, and Nathan Ellis will be valuable both to our ongoing improvement as a team and also further their personal experiences in ODI cricket,” national selector George Bailey said.

Marcus Stoinis has been rested for the series. The batting unit looks strong with the likes of Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, and Matthew Short. Short has been selected due to his performance in BBL 13.

Australia Cricket Team
Australian Cricket Team (Credit: Getty Images)

The pace bowling department comprises of Jhye Richardson, Lance Morris, Aaron Hardie, Sean Abbott, and Nathan Ellis. Adam Zampa is the only specialist spinner in the squad while Glenn Maxwell and Matthew Short would be part-time spinners.

Australia has been in dominating form against the West Indies during the One-day international format. They have won the last 12 matches out of 14. Aussies would look to continue their winning form in the 3-match ODI series.

The first One-day international will be played on 2nd February at Melbourne Cricket Ground, MCG, followed by the 2nd ODI match at Sydney Cricket Ground, SCG on 4th February. The third and final ODI match will take place on 6th February at Maunka Oval, Canberra. It promises to be an exciting series as Australia will see the youngsters perform and stake a claim in the squad for upcoming tournaments.

Australia ODI squad Against West Indies

Steve Smith, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Matt Short, Adam Zampa.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts